All eyes on NC cabinet

2017-05-17 06:02
Zamani Saul, is now the provincial chairperson. Photos: Boipelo Mere

Zamani Saul, is now the provincial chairperson. Photos: Boipelo Mere

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

It is now politics versus governance in the Northern Cape after Premier Sylvia Lucas dropped the bombshell of reshuffling her cabinet after her reported discovery of mismanagement of funds within the government coffers.

Lucas blatantly refused to reveal the reason behind the reshuffling to the media after reportedly meeting the Hawks to hand over evidence of the R26 million which had been revealed to be apparently used towards the ANC provincial conference that took place in Colesberg during the past weekend.

Lucas reshuffled the cabinet by axing the MEC for Finance, Economic Development and Tourism, Mac Jack, and replacing him with Gail Parker.

She also replaced the MEC for Safety and Liaison, Pauline Williams, with Sandra Beukes.

Both Parker and Beukes were sworn in by Judge Frans Kgomo at the Northern Cape High Court.

All eyes, including those of the ANC’s national executive committee (NEC), are on the Northern Cape to see what the next move will be between government and the newly-elected provincial executive committee (PEC) leadership after Lucas pulled out of the leadership race to rather focus on governance.

Zamari Saul emerged victorious amid allegations of membership cloning by Lucas.

The conference is reported to have proceeded without any drama after bitter members had called for the axing of Lucas.

The top five, including the 30 additional members of the PEC, were elected.

It still remains to be seen whether the call for the unshuffling of the reshuffled cabinet will be realised, as it is being promoted on social media.

The status of the Northern Cape cabinet stands as follows:

  • Mxolisi Sokatsha: MEC for Sport, Arts and Culture;
  • Tiny Chotelo: MEC for Nature Conservation and Environmental Affairs;
  • Norman Shushu: MEC for Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development;
  • Bongiwe Mbinqo-Gigaba: MEC for Roads and Public Works;
  • Alexandra (Sandra) Beukes: MEC for Safety and Liaison;
  • Martha Barbara Bartlett: MEC for Education;
  • Gail Parker: MEC for Finance, Economic Development and Tourism;
  • Alvin Botes: MEC for Cooperative Governance, Human Settlements and Traditional Affairs;
  • Gift van Staden: MEC for Social Development; and
  • Lebogang Mothlaping: MEC for Health.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.