Cast your vote today

2017-06-14 06:02

Political parties are holding their breath in a bid to win the Sol Plaatje Municipality Ward 24 today (14/06).

The ward will be contested by Melga Sharon Tobias (ANC), Sharon Merle Steyn (DA), Lettie Papier (Economic Freedom Fighters) and Hendrik Jacobus van den Berg (Vryheidsfront Plus).

The ward was previously represented by the DA and became vacant after the death of Cllr Dirk van der Merwe who passed away in March.

The voter turnout for this ward in the 2016 municipal elections was 70,14% and the DA candidate won the ward with 82,84% of the valid votes.


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.