Celtic women aim for third win

2018-11-28 06:02

The Bloemfontein Celtic women’s football team can make history if it secures this year’s national Sasol Women’s League (SWL) championship.

The team also won the title in 2016 and 2017.

The championship will take place at the Galeshewe Stadium in Kimberley from 4 to 9 December.

Nine clubs representing their respective provinces will compete to be crowned as the new SWL champion.

Celtic is gunning for a rare feat to win the SWL crown for a third time in succession. If this happens, Bloemfontein will become the permanent holder of the trophy, and the club will be the first-ever in South Africa to do so since the league’s inception ten years ago.

Celtic’s coach, Edwin Lisene, has however warned his team never to underestimate its opponents.

“The players should never be complacent. All the clubs want to win the trophy as badly as we want tomuch as we want to win it third time in a row and make history.”

While it was a perfect season for Celtic’s female team, Lisene pointed out that winning the national SWL title would make it even more remarkable.

“If the players manage to defend the cup again, it will be unforgettable for this generation. We want Bloemfontein to be the permanent home of the trophy,” he said.

Lisene will have a full-strength team bolstered by Bambanani Mbane, Kgaelebane Mohlakoana and Melinda Kgadiete. These three players are also included in Banyana Banyana, the team representing the country at the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations tournament underway in Ghana.

Celtic’s opening match of the championship is against the University of the Western Cape on 4 December.


Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts

Jobs in Cape Town [change area]

Jobs in Western Cape region

Reporting Accountant

Cape Town
Network Finance Professional / Prudential
R310 000.00 - R360 000.00 Per Year

HSE Manager

Cape Town
Tumaini Consulting
R550 000.00 - R650 000.00 Per Year

SQL Reporter

Cape Town
Communicate Cape Town IT
R10 000.00 - R12 000.00 Per Month

Property [change area]

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.