Contenders confirmed

2019-12-04 06:02

The eight clubs from the GladAfrica Championship that will participate in next year’s Nedbank Cup have been confirmed.

The two KwaZulu-Natal clubs, Real Kings and Royal Eagles, were the first to qualify after beating Steenberg United and Swallows FC.

Ajax Cape Town bounced back in the competition when they beat Richards Bay by 2 – 1 in Richards Bay to advance to the next stage, while Free State Stars lost at home by 1 – 2 to TS Sporting.

Jomo Cosmos advanced after beating the University of Pretoria by 2 – 1.

Mbombela United eliminated the on-form JDR Stars, beating them by 0 – 1.

The defending Nedbank Cup champions, TS Galaxy, ensured they would get an opportunity to defend their trophy as they beat Cape Umoya by 1 – 0.

Tshakhuma FC and Uthongathi produced a seven-goal thriller, with the latter winning by 4 – 3.


Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.