Power cuts loom in FS

2018-03-14 06:00

Eskom has set a new deadline for seven Free State municipalities facing power interruptions to finalise negotiations over the repayment of their debt towards the supplier.

The Tokologo, Masilonyana, Nketoana, Matjhabeng, Maluti-a-Phofung, Nala and Dihlabeng Municipality are included in this concession.

These cash-strapped ANC-led municipalities are facing interruptions and a possible cut of bulk power due to their failure to honour repayment agreements of their outstanding debts to Eskom.

To ensure a smooth registration process for voters, the power supply was not interrupted on Saturday (10/03) and Sunday (11/03).

Eskom is currently negotiating with these municipalities to finalise an agreement of when they will start paying out­standing debts.

According to Eskom, each municipality owes over R1 million.

While talks for repayment continue, power interruptions to Tokologo are still applicable, but have been suspended at Masilonyana and Nketoana.

  • The Nketoana Municipality’s new deadline is on 26 April, while Tokologo’s deadline looms on Friday (16/03).

Matjhabeng and Maluti-a-Phofung also have until 16 March, while Nala’s deadline is on 23 March.

Eskom has withheld the reason why power interruptions to Nketoana and Masilonyana have been suspended while negotiations are underway to reach an agreement.

“Negotiations with the municipality are proceeding and we are appreciative of the municipality’s effort to make payments and enter into an agreement with Eskom,” said Bibi Bedir, Eskom’s senior manager of customer service in the Free State.

“We are also wary of the impact that the interruptions will have on the communities of Hertzogville, Boshof, Dealesville and Seretse and will therefore continue with the current interruptions instead of increasing it to 14 hours per day.

“However, should the negotiations reach a dead end, we will immediately proceed with implementing the daily 14-hour interruptions.”

Debt adding up

Power interruptions of the supply of power continue to ) The Tokologo Municipality, that administers Boshof, Dealesville and Hertzogville, currently owes Eskom the amount of R36 464 659,52 for the bulk supply of electricity.

  • The Nketoana Local Municipality is currently indebted to Eskom for the amount of R163 935 774,35.
  • The Masilonyana Local Municipality owes Eskom R48 521 535,27.
  • The Maluti-A-Phofung Local Municipality owes Eskom R2 627 895 261,10
  • The Matjhabeng Local Municipality is currently indebted to Eskom for the amount of R1 742 710 459,06
  • The Nala Local Municipality is currently indebted to Eskom for the amount of R180 972 200,62.
  • The Dihlabeng Local Municipality owes Eskom R192 972 097,83.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.