Tigers and Stars battle it out for final slot

2017-10-11 06:02

Two second-tier clubs campaigning in the Free State’s ABC Motsepe League, the Bloemfontein Young Tigers and Sibanye Golden Stars, are vying for the single qualifying slot in the final 32 of this year’s Nedbank Cup.

The two teams will face off at Glen College on 18 October to determine the winner of the ABC Motsepe League.

The triumphant team will compete against the winner of the third-tier division, the SAB League, for the provincial single qualifying slot in the final 32.

Only clubs in the lower leagues compete for the slot available in the final 32 of the championship, which features both professional and non-professional leagues.

The Free State winner of the lower league represents the province in this competition.

It is the 11th year that the competition is held.

Both the Stars and Tigers have been lucky to reach this stage of the championship.

The Welkom-based side, Stars, also attained this feat in 2010 and in 2015.

The Tigers managed to reach this stage in different years while in the National First Division League under a different two-title sponsorship. In 1998, the Tigers managed to reach the semifinal of the Bobsave Super Bowl and the quarterfinal of the Absa Cup in 2005-’06.

Under the current title sponsorship, the Tigers only managed to reach the final 32 once in 2013-’14.

This Bloemfontein-based team are striving to secure the qualifying spot for second time.and make history becoming the only lower rank Free State team to qualify a record time of four.

Stars and Tigers reached the qualifier play-off stage of the competition by winning their preliminary qualifier games staged recently in Welkom and Bloemfontein.

Stars beat Days FC by 3 – 0 and Dijabatho FC by 2 – 0.

Tigers beat the Central University Technology, Free State, side by 4 – 3, Mangaung Unite by 2 – 0 and Tshiyame All Stars by 2 – 0.

The team reaching the final 32 stage is guaranteed a participation prize of R100 000 and R20 000 for reaching the final-16 stage of the competition.

The overall winner of this tournament will get a chance to represent South Africa and compete in the African Football Confederations Cup.

  • The Pretoria-based team SuperSport United won the Nedbank Cup twice in a row, in 2015-’16 and 2016-’17.

Inside News24

Most Read
News In Your Area
Top Lifestyle
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.