Umvoti CMC matric awards

2015-06-03 06:00
With their awards (from left) Mr HG Khumalo (CM: Umvoti), Mr SW Keswa (CES: Infrastructure andamp; Planning: Umzinyathi District), Dr Mulaudzi (sponsor) and Mr Mchunu who received, on behalf of Mr E. Bartholomew (Greytown High), the award fo

With their awards (from left) Mr HG Khumalo (CM: Umvoti), Mr SW Keswa (CES: Infrastructure andamp; Planning: Umzinyathi District), Dr Mulaudzi (sponsor) and Mr Mchunu who received, on behalf of Mr E. Bartholomew (Greytown High), the award fo

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE Umvoti Circuit Management Centre held its annual matric awards on 27 May at Greytown High. This annual function, organised by Ms NE Mkhize (Circuit Manager: Umdlovana Circuit), Mr J. Moonsamy (Deputy Principal: Greytown Secondary), Mrs P Scholtz (Deputy Principal: Greytown High), Mr R. Maharaj (Principal: Kranskop Primary­), Mrs CM Shaw-Govender (Deputy Principal: Mt Ernestina Combined) and Mr GK Ntsele (Deputy­ Principal: Gcotoi Secondary), honours, last year’s best performing schools and Grade 12 teachers. This year, the programme was extended to include excellence in primary schools.

The function was well attended by all role players and pupils from neighbouring schools who entertained the gathering.

The guest of honour, Mr S. Keswa­, in his speech stressed that schools should nurture pupils and provide quality education so they aspire to greater heights as they are our future leaders and we must prepare them fully for life after school. He appealed for better results in the new year and congratulated principals and teachers for their achievement and excellence in 2014.

Other speakers praised awardees and committed themselves to working closely with schools to ensure better overall performance.

Guests were entertained by pupils­ from Greytown Secondary, Greytown High, Indlovana Primary and Tholinhlanhla Primary. The Busana High choir rendered an item that saw them come first in the provincial competition in Durban last week.

Kranskop Combined School led the top 10 schools with a 100% pass rate for 2014, followed by Greytown High (93%), Busana High (92%), Qhubinyathi Secondary (88%), Greytown Secondary (83%), Mzoniwe Secondary (80%), Mgwempisi Combined (76%), Candabuthule­ Secondary (75%), Esokheni Secondary (74%) and Makhedama High (73%).

The following teachers were awarded the “Best Teacher of the Subject” award: Accounting: N.N. Mchunu (Esokheni Secondary), Business Studies: B.P. Fandaleki (Kranskop Combined), Economics: S.E. Zungu (Esokheni­ Secondary), English First Additional Language: S.C. Sikhosana­ (Elsie Mtshali Combined), Geography: M.K. Khumalo and Z.Z. Mkhize (Busana High), History: G.N. Nyathikazi and K.N. Mhlongo (Busana High), Zulu Home Language: N.O. Dumakude (Mount Ernestina Combined), Life Science: E. Bartholomew (Grey- town High), Mathematics: Z. Sithole­ (Mzoniwe Secondary), Mathematical Literacy: S.M. Magubane (Kranskop Combined), Physical­ Science: Z.Q. Mkhize and I. Chitsa (Busana High).

A number of teachers received awards in the 100% pass rate in a subject as well as for achieving level­ seven (A) in a subject.

Mrs N. Francis took the award for the astronomy quiz in the primary school section.

The National Teacher Awards is an annual event and we were proud to announce that the following teachers represented the Umvoti Circuit Management Centre in the 2014 round, at district level:

Excellence in Primary School Leadership: Mrs Dlamini (Sangweni Primary), Excellence in Physical Science Teaching: Mr G.K. Ntsele (Gcotoi Secondary) and Excellence in Grade R Teaching: Mrs K. Nabee (Greytown Junior).

Long-service awards were also presented to teachers who retired in 2014.

The well-organised function would not have been possible without the ongoing support of sponsors and well wishers, as there are no official funds available for this locally organised event. The organising committee places­ on record its sincere thanks to Mavundla Square, Dr Ntombela (Mpilenhle Medical Clinic), Dr Mulaudzi­, Gangai (Boeties- Mqangeni­), Aheers Multisave Supermarket­, Min Cash Warehouse, Zakwe (Zamani), Metro- politan, Bracken Timbers, Mondi Forests, Absa Bank, Standard Bank, Greytown Secondary School, Greytown High School, Mount Ernestina­ Combined School, Kwasizabantu and Aquelle, Siyabonga Powertrade (Kranskop), The Stables­ Takeaways and Bashisemzukulu Trading cc

NEXT ON NEWS24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.