Hockey stars get set to defend their regional throne

2019-05-08 06:01
photo: suppliedGreytown High School first team hockey captain Emily Raw (left) and vice captain Sphesihle Kubheka look forward to leading their team.

photo: suppliedGreytown High School first team hockey captain Emily Raw (left) and vice captain Sphesihle Kubheka look forward to leading their team.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

DEFENDING champions Greytown High School will be hosting teams in the upcoming uMvoti, uThukela and uMzinyathi Regional for the SPAR KZN Schoolgirls’ Hockey Challenge on Saturday, May 11.

This region has produced four champions that have progressed to the grand finals in Durban each year.

In their first time winning this regional, Greytown High School managed to dethrone Wartburg Kirchdorf School — who had dominated the area for five consecutive years (from 2013). Prior to the Wartburg Kirchdorf era, Wembley and Ladysmith High both hoisted the trophy.

Six teams will be kitted up and ready to take to the field. First up in this regional is Greytown and Hermannsburg, as they get the ball rolling in the first of fifteen round-robin games at 8 am.

This is one of the smaller regionals in this ten-region tournament, that travels the length-and-breadth of KwaZulu-Natal in the build-up to the Grand Finals in July.

Participating schools from this area include host school and defending champions Greytown High School, together with Deutsche Schule Hermannsburg, Domino Servite, Estcourt High School, Wartburg Kirchdorf and Wembley College.

All games are 20 minutes long, with a win earning a team four points, a draw with goals two points, a goalless draw one point and a loss zero.

Once all the round-robin games have been completed, the regional final will take place between the top two teams.

The gold medal game gets underway at 1.40 pm, followed by prize giving.

Confirmed schools that already have tickets to the Grand Finals include St Anne’s Diocesan College (PMB North), Epworth School (PMB Central), Crawford College La Lucia (DBN North Regional), Durban Girls’ College (DBN Central Regional), Amanzimtoti High (DBN South Regional), Kokstad College (Southern KZN Regional), and Ferrum High (Northern KZN).

The day after the uMvoti, uThukela and uMzinyathi Regional, teams from the Highway area take to Thomas More College on Sunday for the Highway Regional. And then, the last remaining regional travels to Grantleigh School on Sunday, May 19. Thereafter the 2019 tournament wraps up with all the regional winners converging at the Grand Finals, taking place at St Mary’s DSG on the weekend of July 20 and July 21. — Supplied.


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.