Nquthu by-elections IEC timetable

2017-04-19 06:00

THE independent Electoral Commission has released its timetable for the Nquthu by-elections on 24 May. Nominations for candidates standing in the by-elections opened on 7 April and 18 April was the cut-off date for submission of ward candidates together with the required documents and deposits.

The cut-off date for the compilation of lists of political parties contesting the election, as well as the compilation and certification of ward candidates-these lists to be made available is 3 May.

On 4 May the IEC will list voting stations open for inspection as well as the routes and times of mobile voting stations.

Voting stations on election day will open at 7am and close at 7pm.

As reported in last week's Greytown Gazette the number of voters in Nquthu increased by over 4 000 in the time period from the local government elections last August and the closing of the voters' roll on 7 April.

According to the IEC statistics of the August elections a total of 44 951 (out of 77 097 registered) voters turned out to make their mark in one of the 16 wards, giving a percentage turnout of 58.27%.

There are now 81 159 voters registered for the May election.


Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.