Prizes to strive for this year

2019-01-30 06:00
2018 PS Trophy winners Hermannsburg’s Carolina Hoffmann, Kayla Shearing, Mischa Chetty and Alvin Gumede were honoured for their fine achievements in 2018.

2018 PS Trophy winners Hermannsburg’s Carolina Hoffmann, Kayla Shearing, Mischa Chetty and Alvin Gumede were honoured for their fine achievements in 2018.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

AMID the bustle of preparation — sourcing, checking, covering and labelling clothing and stationery — we look forward to a year of personal growth and achievement as we greeted all our pupils and their parents in Hermannsburg on Sunday, January 13.

We especially look forward to welcoming all our new pupils in the kindergarten, primary school and high school. There are prizes to strive for in the coming year, as our recipients from 2018 will attest.

Many of our pupils received recognition for their achievements in the form of merit certificates, half-colours and colours.

A. Mbuli received honours for both hockey and tennis. N. Dlamini came first in the national Zulu Olympiad and received a Scroll of Excellence while music honours went to C. Kohrs, A. Meyer, S. Meyer, N. Mpungose, S. Mngoma and M. Jonker.

Trophies went to M. Khan (Katja Hoffmann Trophy for German, Waltraut Müller-Nedebock EMS Scholarship, Peter-Paul Congregation Book Prize), L. Köhne (Jenny Matulat Trophy for German, Eckart & Monica Meyer Music Progress Trophy), K. Ortmann (KZN-DKR Prize for German), L. Mosheshe (Walton Family Trophy for German), J. Königkrämer (Ian Younge Cricket Trophy), P. Tönsing (HMB School Trust Prize for enviromental studies, Kohrs Family Music Theory Trophy, Pidelta Geography Trophy, Erich Buhr Mathematics Scholarship, Brooks Family Afrikaans Trophy), Z. Magubane (Du Toit/ KZN Youth Choir Floating Trophy), S. Mngoma (Tania de Bruyn Eisteddfod Trophy), A. Meyer (Tristan Hiestermann Music Potential Trophy), S. Meyer (Waltraut Müller-Nedebock KZN Youth Choir scholarship, N. Mpungose (Simmonds Music Prize), S. De Wet (Mevrou Olivier Afrikaans Trophy), P. Lütge (Khiren Maharaj Memorial Trophy — Accounting), D. Mohlala (Lindemann Life Orientation Trophy), N. Sithole (Cockburn Family isiZulu Trophy), L. Poser (Rolf Rohwer Afrikaans Scholarship).

In the primary school, Carolina Hoffmann was awarded the Rudolf & Jo Aulfes Trophy for language proficiency in all of English, Afrikaans and German; Mischa Chetty received the Mrs Alwar Memorial Mathematics Trophy; Kayla Shearing was awarded the Heritage Prize for Social Sciences and keen participation in the Grade 7 tour to Cape Town — sponsored by the Hermannsburg Museum — and the HMB Trust Prize for environmental studies; Alvin Gumede received the coveted Sigrid Strobel Pokal (trophy) for service to the school.

We congratulate all our pupils on their achievements in 2018, and eagerly anticipate the heights they will reach in 2019.


Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.