School honours top achievers at prize-giving ceremony

2019-12-11 06:00
Dux Teagon Alexander with her awards. photo: supplied

Dux Teagon Alexander with her awards. photo: supplied

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE St. David’s Diocesan School held its prize-giving on November 29.

Grade 1 pupils received a storybook for successfully completing their first year at school while Grade 2 pupils each received a certificate for his or her special talent and contribution to the class.

The following pupils from Grade 3 to Grade 6 were presented with certificates:

Grade 3: Sagel Govender and Snothando Mkhize for academic achievement; Ruben Boshoff and Jan Fourie for dedication to sport.

Grade 4: Lwandle Dladla, Keenan Ferreira, Rudland Fourie, Thabisa Khumalo, Dwayne Rootman, Zinathi Sithole, and Alondwe Xaba for academic achievement.

Grade 5: Scarlet Alexander for academic excellence; Sumay Sauer and Langa Zuma for academic achievement; Mvelenhle Ndlela and Mfundo Dlamini for achievement in Mathematics: and Nomvuselelo Shelembe for progress in mathematics.

Grade 6: Alwande Xaba, Thingo Mkhize, Uzu­benathi Xulu, Samantha Hechter, and Zothando Mdlalose for academic excellence; Lwandle Khethiwe for Good Progress; Rudi Boshoff for achievement in Afrikaans; Owethu Ali for achievement in social and natural sciences; and Zamanondaba Zondi for achievement in mathematics.

The guest of honour was Marianne Roodt, who has retired after teaching at St. David’s for eighteen years. Her passion for teaching, management skills and loyalty to the school were greatly valued. As a dedicated Christian she taught Christian morals and values to the pupils. She has made a positive and lasting impact on the lives of hundreds of children who have passed through her classes. She was also thanked for her soccer coaching skills and presented with a sou­venir soccer ball. The school wished Roodt much happiness in her retirement.

Roodt presented the Special Awards to the Grade 7 prize winners.

St. David’s would like to express appreciation to the sponsors for their generosity.

St. James’ Women’s Guild English Award: Teagon Alexander

Nel and Stevens Afrikaans Award: Teagon Alexander

Platt Plant Maths Award: Teagon Alexander­

Newmarch Natural Sciences Award: Anele Ntshingila

Gerda Holdt Social Sciences Award: Tushar Lutchmanlall

Leslie Lee Progress Award: Kelly Howard

Hill Forestry Technology Award: Jacob Turner

Sean Barrow: Economic and Management Sciences Award: Tushar Lutchmanlall

Terra Craig Art and Drama Award: Kelly Howard

Bart’s Computers Award: Likhona Mntambo­

Terra Craig Trophy for Progress in Maths: Sizophila­ Sithole

Mary James Trophy for Reading: Anele Ntshingila

Thompson Trophy for Endeavour: Amy-Lee Gilson and Lidamarie Joubert

St. David’s Trophy for Initiative: Anele Mavundla­

Greytown Build-It Leadership award: Teagon­ Alexander

Mary Slatter Trophy for Service to School, sponsored by Holme Lacy Farms: Mpendulo Mkhize and Nhlanzeko Jili

Ubuntu Trophy for Fellowship: Teagon Alexander­

Morgan Cup for Achievement in Sport: Awande Ntshingila

Special Academic Achievement award: Anele­ Ntshingila

B. W. Lamb Dux Trophy: Teagon Alexander.

The school entertained guests and parents with beautiful songs, accompanied on the piano by Harriet van Rooyen, and then everyone joined in the singing of Christmas carols. We thanked Van Rooyen for her assistance with music and singing throughout the year and on this evening. — Supplied.



Inside News24

Most Read
News In Your Area
Top Lifestyle
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.