St Cathryn’s news

2016-12-21 06:02

IT was a busy weekend of golf at St Cathryn's with lots of visitors, fun and laughter.
The Farmers Agri-Care December Monthly Mug was played on Saturday, 17 December, and the member who won the Captains Putter had a 27 shot swing around and won the Farmers Agri-Care Mug of Mugs on Sunday.
The winner of the Monthly Mug, Marius Muller, won his first ever Monthly Mug.

Other visitors were the 40th year reunion class from Hermannsburg who came to play golf and relax before they went back to see how their old school was doing.

The annual AGM and report back meeting was held at 5pm on Saturday and Piet Nel reported on the achievements of the members this past year, and members discussed the changes done and to be done to the course.

The rules committee are very busy working on the final “strokes” for all the holes so that the updated scorecard can be printed.

St Cathryn’s also thanked all members and visitors for their support this past year, with special mention of our sponsors Farmers Agri-Care, Up-one Farming, CPS Seedlings, Tuta Carriers, Plennegy, Dr Rikus Kloppers and the Cake Lady - Liekie. We are also thankful to all sponsors who support golf days played at St Cathryn’s during the year. We all enjoyed the braai and fellowship afterwards.

The AGM report back was attended by Tienie Muller, golf captain from Greytown, who spoke on the good relationship between our two clubs and wished us well for 2017.

Liekie Steyn won the 2016 Grand Prix and walked off with a quarter sheep, as Liekie received the most points from all the Farmers Agri -Care monthly mugs she played during 2016.

December Farmers Agri-Care
Monthly Mug results

1st Marius Muller nett 70

2nd Brent Barkhuizen nett 72

3rd Merwin Rabe nett 74 o.c.o

4th Justin Harrison o.c.o

5th Vijay Roopai.

Captains Putter: Mike Harrison

Nearest to pin 9/18: Nelson Govender

Nearest to pin for two on the 8th: Deon van Dyk.

Longest drive on the 10th : Lee Daff

Best Stableford : Brent Barkhuizen 37 points

Mug of Mugs 2016:

1st Mike Harrison nett 71

2nd Deon van Dyk nett 72

3rd Liekie Steyn nett 76

4th Tienie Muller, followed by Dieter Meyer, Merwin Rabe and Lawrence Savage.

Nearest to pin 9/18: Mike Harrison.

Subs for 2017 are now due and are payable by 31 January please.

We are open for golf every day during the holidays except Christmas day.

We wish all our members, visitors and friends a very happy Christmas and a prosperous New Year.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Competition regulation for a growing and inclusive economy

ADVERTORIAL: The Competition Commission of South Africa is conducting advocacy work in the South African automotive aftermarket industry and has gazetted a Draft Code of Conduct for public comment.

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.