Window on Wembley

2018-08-29 06:00
Liat Lasa, a YFU exchange student from Chile, will be joining Wembley College for four months.

Liat Lasa, a YFU exchange student from Chile, will be joining Wembley College for four months.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

ON Monday, August 27, Liat Lasa, a YFU exchange student from Chile, is arriving at Wembley. Liat lives in Punta Arenas, the capital city of Chile’s southernmost region Magallanes. It is the largest city, south of the 46th parallel, located on the Brunswick Peninsula, north of the Strait of Magellan.

Due to its location, Punta Arenas has a sub-polar oceanic climate. The average temperature is -1 C in winter and 14 C in summer.

I interviewed Liat to find out a little bit more about her life in Chile.

Please could everyone make Liat feel part of our Wembley family. She is far from home and we want her to feel welcome at Wembley College. Liat will be living with the Yeadon family for four months.

Q: What is your favourite food in Chile?

A: I love Charquican. This dish is a mixture of meat, potato and a variety of vegetables.

Q: What are some of your traditions in Chile?

A: The most important traditions occurs on September 18. We celebrate our national holidays for one week and there are games. We eat traditional Chilean food.

Q: What kind of school do you attend?

A: My school is co-educational with 400 pupils. I have 25 pupils in my class and we have been together since nursery school. We start school at 8 am and end at 1.50 pm. My dad takes me to school and my mum collects me from school.

Q: What is your favourite subject and do you play sport?

A: I enjoy biology and I have done gymnastics for many years.

Q: Tell us about your family.

A: I have a big family which is very close. My older sister is 22 and my younger sister is 15 and I have a baby brother who is only four years old. Sunday is family day and we enjoy spending time with our grandparents, cousins and uncles.

Q: What kind of house do you live in?

A: I live in a big, old, double-storey house in Chile.

Q: How do you relax on the weekends?

A: On the weekends I spend time with my friends. We go to movies and eat pizza or something delicious and I like to read books.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.
NEXT ON NEWS24X

Inside News24

 
/News
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.
 
English
Afrikaans
isiZulu

Hello 

Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.


Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Settings

Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.




Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.