Murray Cup trophy for Villagers

2015-10-13 06:00
Photo: Kerrith Howes
Villagers players with the trophy.

Photo: Kerrith Howes Villagers players with the trophy.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

LAND Rover Durban-Envirosan Hillcrest Villagers RC recently won the converted 114-year-old (Jnr) Murray Cup Knockout Tournament, which is regarded as the most prestigious of the first-division club tournaments in KZN.

The (Jnr) Murray Cup was first awarded in 1911 by Sir TK Murray, to DHS Old Boys. Interestingly Pinetown Rugby Club won the Cup in 1930 and 1931. It has only and#034;not been played forand#034;, between 1915-18 and 1940-45 (during the two world wars)

The Cup is made from solid silver and kept under tight security at the KZNRU.

Hillcrest Villagers RC last won the Cup successively in 2001 and 2002. What is truly amazing, is that Villagersand#039; front row and#034;Legendand#034; Pete Dennison, played in the 2001-2002 winning Villagers sides, as well as the 2015 winning side, 13 years later.

It is at this point, that Pete has now decided to eventually, and#034;retire gracefullyand#034;, and make 2015 his last competitive season.

Dennison first joined the club as a 10-year-old in 1978, as a mini-rugby player, and played his first game for the 1st XV in 1992.

Since then, Dennison has played consistently for the 1st XV, which calculates out to a remarkable 23 years in the cluband#039;s 1st XV.

He was part of the cluband#039;s undisputed and legendary front row and#034;comboand#034; of the nineties, made up of Rob Willows, Steve Strydom and Dennison.

A front row, that Springbok and Scotland international, John Alan, once remarked, was the best front row in the provincial club rugby.

What is also noteworthy, is that the cluband#039;s 1st XV head coach, Jeremy McLaren was also the Villagers fullback in the 2001/2 and Murray Cup victories.

and#034;Jemand#034; played his first game for the 1st XV in 2001 and his last, in 2014.

Kyle Spowartis, the victorious captain of the 2015 Villagers 1st XV.

“For those who have played club rugby [you] will know, that itand#039;s clubmen like Pete and Jem that make the game so unique and special,and#034; said Villagersand#039; chairman, René Missen.

- Supplied

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.