Awarding excellence

2016-10-18 06:00
Brittany Graham with her Dux award. Photo: supplied

Brittany Graham with her Dux award. Photo: supplied

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

HILLCREST High senior speech night had all the ingredients of laughter, talent, nervous tension and excellent speeches by all speakers which made it an excellent and memorable night.

The guest speaker, Dr Kasambala spoke to the senior pupils and reminded them that though they may feel they have come to the end, it really is “just the beginning”. Dr Kasambala highlighted the qualities that would help them to lead full and productive lives which, included focus, perseverance and courage.

The top achievers for 2016 included third placed in Grade 12 pupil, Bryce Foster, Proxime Accesit Dux Emily Goode, and Dux of the school, Brittany Graham – who scooped up academic awards for accounting and the trophy for excellence in accounting, Life sciences, mathematics, physical science, and the trophy for excellence in mathematics and science.

Best senior all-round sportsman went to Calvin Benton and best senior all-round sportswoman went to Londeka Zuma, 2016 Head Girl – who also collected the well deserved awards of academic honours, dramatic arts, IsiZulu, good service to the school, the important Itshweele Lempangele Award for “Spirit of togetherness” – given to the person who has shown respect for humans, harmony and unity as well as the Cobb/Muller Shielf for the best all rounder.

Elma Akob (deputy head girl of culture) also carried off an armful of awards, including academic honours, the business studies subject prize, the Price Waterhouse Cooper trophy for excellence in commerce, the Rygill trophy for public speaking Grade 11 and 12, the Evelyn Forrest Cup for the greatest contribution to cultural affairs, the trophy for being the best ambassador of the school (amongst her many other achievements, Elma became the first African female to chair the GYLC UN Global Summit meeting in New York), as well as a very aptly deserved Walsh Trophy for the Pursuit of Excellence.

The night ended, with many different emotions, with the announcement of the new Student Leadership Team for 2017. Deputy Heads for 2017 are Joshua Stroebel, Dylan Barnard and Hlengiwe Zondi (Sport), Georgia Gifford (Culture), and finally, Craig Dowdall and Esai Reddy were announced as head leaders for 2017. - Supplied.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Competition regulation for a growing and inclusive economy

ADVERTORIAL: The Competition Commission of South Africa is conducting advocacy work in the South African automotive aftermarket industry and has gazetted a Draft Code of Conduct for public comment.

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.