Nail-biting finish at schools MTB league

2017-10-24 06:01
PHOTO: chris hitchcockGarsfontein High School has been crowned the 2017 champions of the Spur Schools MTB League.

PHOTO: chris hitchcockGarsfontein High School has been crowned the 2017 champions of the Spur Schools MTB League.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

GARSFONTEIN High in Gauteng has been crowned the 2017 champions of the Spur MTB League Inter-Schools Final in the mixed and men’s categories in Magaliesburg, which took place on October 7 and 8 at Bekker High School.

The event welcomed 433 riders, their parents, coaches and fans.

Menlo Park High in Gauteng, and Potchefstroom Gymnasium took second and third place in the mixed category respectively.

Paul Roos Gymnasium is in second place in the men’s overall category, followed by Parel Vallei High, who tailed close behind in third place.

In the women’s category, Potchefstroom Gymnasium came first, followed by Transvalia High and Menlo Park in second and third places respectively.

The event wrapped up the Spur Schools MTB League that comprised of months of rigorous training, hours of trail riding through mountainous terrain, 493 participating schools and 46 events across the country.

“We are incredibly proud of all of our riders. They’ve trained hard throughout the season and their commitment to the sport has been first class.

“First place in the final is testimony that hard work really does pay off,” says MTB co-ordinator of Garsfontein High School, Jan-Albert de Kock.

The Spur School MTB League covers nine provinces and races take place from May to October annually.

The league was launched by Spur Steak Ranches and Amarider in 2009 with the ultimate aim of promoting MTB as an official in-school sport with rugby and cricket, as well as to encourage mass participation among school-going children.

“Over the past eight years, the league has shown immense growth. More schools are adopting MTB as an official in-school sport and momentum is growing.

“This means we are well on our way to achieving our initial goal,” says Clare Rainey, Spur Brand Development Manager.

Meurant Botha, director of Amarider and principal organiser of league agree and congratulated Garsfontein High, Menlo Park High and Potchefstroom Gymnasium on their achievement.

Botha described the 2017 league as a “great success” and commended children and participating schools for their commitment and dedication to the sport.

“It’s been an incredible season, lots of hard work behind the scenes from an incredible team. But all credit goes to the kids who have trained so hard and sacrificed so much time, including a large portion of their weekends to ensure they do well. We are proud of each one of them and can’t wait to start planning for the 2018 season,” Botha says.

The Spur Schools MTB League is the biggest high schools cycling programme in South Africa, as well as the largest feeder system for MTB in the country.

The league has also since transcended South Africa to Zimbabwe, Namibia and Lesotho.

The inter-provincial final saw Gauteng taking first place with Western Cape and North West in second and third.

To wrap up a weekend of great competition, Armand Cronjé (16) from Merensky High won a bicycle, sponsored by Cycle Lab, in the Last Man Standing competition. Hoërskool Montana from Western Cape won the 2017 War Cry Battle, beating the 2016 champions, Menlo Park High.

Planning for the 2018 league season gets under way next week.

Overall logs and individual results for both inter-schools and inter-provincial finals can be found at www.spurmtb

The 2018 regional event provisional dates will be added to the calendar by the end of November.

Information on how to participate as an individual pupil or as your school team can be found on the website. - Supplied.


Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.