Schools MTB League riders race

2017-09-26 06:01
Photo: SuppliedPupils take off at the start of the KwaZulu-Natal regional final at the weekend.

Photo: SuppliedPupils take off at the start of the KwaZulu-Natal regional final at the weekend.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

PRIMARY and high school pupils from surrounding schools in KwaZulu-Natal participated in the Spur Schools Mountain Bike League #4 at Thomas More College at the weekend.

Tim Keep, regional event organiser, said he was thrilled by the great pre-entry response, they received a record number of rider entries with 276 entries and a total of 54 schools participated in the race.

The best performing high school of the day was Maritzburg College and the top performing primary school was Winston Park Primary School.

The KwaZulu-Natal #4 winners for the following categories are: Sub Junior Boys B (14 years): Daniel Van Der Watt, Maritzburg College; Sub-Junior Girls B (14 years): Chloe Bateson, Curro Mount Richmore; Youth Men (15-16 years): Travis Stedman, Thomas More College; Youth Women (15-16 years): Bridget Theunissen, Thomas More College; Junior Men (17-18 years): Thomas Cheatle, Maritzburg College; Junior Women (17-18 years): Hannah Stiebel, Thomas More College.

“The region has done very well this season, with a great response all round from KZN schools, especially with the primary schools,” Keep said.

The Spur Schools Mountain Bike League was launched by Spur Steak Ranches and Amarider in 2009.

The initiative aims to provide a level of regional and national structure for the sport at school level, as well as to encourage schools to adopt mountain biking as an official in-school sport.

The Spur Mountain Bike League inter-schools final wraps up this season on October 7 and 8, in Magaliesburg.

Schools go head-to-head on race day and the race moves away from the individual rider-focus to a team-focussed race. Each school strives to qualify for this part of League.

A cash prize of R10 000 is up for grabs and will be awarded to each school at the top of their age category.

The primary and high schools finishing top of the points log at the end of each season are awarded the Region’s School Champion floating trophy.

For results, entry details and event photos visit the ROAG website: https://www.roag. and the Spur Schools MTB Facebook page: SchoolsLeague/

To contact the KwaZulu-Natal regional event co-ordinator, Tim Keep, send an email to

- Supplied.


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24


Enter the examination number or search by province or school (NSC Students) to view results.

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.