Junior surfing champs take to the waves

2019-09-26 06:00

EIGHT South African titles and the Freedom Cup are at stake at the 23rd annual Sea Harvest South African Surfing Championships that take place at Lower Point in Jeffreys Bay from September 25 to September 29.

With determined young surfers, the Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders team is ready to do battle against competing districts: Rory Dace (u.12), Rylan Jarvis (u.12), Billabong Seal Point Pro Junior winner Nathan Plomaritis (u.14), Joel Dace (u.14), C-Jay Posthunus (u.14), Justin van Niekerk (u.14), Jeffreys Bay surfer Zia Hendricks (u.14), St Francis Bay surfer Hannah Pretorius (u.14), Ernie Prinsloo (u.16), Kye McGrogor (u.16), Chloe Atkinson (u.16), Kaylee Shaw-Nell (u.16), Catelyn Plomaritis (u.16), Angelo Faulkner (u.19), Ryan Lightfoot (u.19), Dellin Hendricks (u.19), Andrew Laverge (u.19), Daniella Finlayson (u.19), Kelly Medley (u.19) and Emma Davey (u.19).

Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders, who last took honours in 2016, are determined to win it this year, but Cape Town Surfriders, eThekweni Surfriders and Buffalo City Surfriders have all selected impressive teams and the battle for overall honours will be close.

The other teams in action are Cape Winelands Surfriders, Eden Surfriders, UGU Surfriders and Ilembe Surfriders that have all sent solid teams to compete in Jeffreys.


Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.