Zia triumphs at Billabong Junior Series

2017-03-30 06:02
= Zia Hendricks from Jeffreys Bay won the Girls u.12 division at the Billabong Junior Series held in Port Elizabeth.Photo:KODY MCGREGOR

= Zia Hendricks from Jeffreys Bay won the Girls u.12 division at the Billabong Junior Series held in Port Elizabeth.Photo:KODY MCGREGOR

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

LOCAL surfer Zia Hendricks claimed the number one spot in the u.12 Girls’ division at the acclaimed Billabong Junior Series presented by All Board Travel at Loch Ness in Port Elizabeth over the weekend.

Max Elkington continued his phenomenal winning streak by claiming his 15th national age group event title when he clinched the u.16 Boys’ crown.

The first of four surfing events that will crown champions in five age divisions for boys and girls for the 20th successive year in October was held in good waves at the Pipe in Port Elizabeth on Saturday, before small waves and onshore winds saw organisers move to the open ocean ‘wildside’ where the finals were completed in tricky head-high surf.

Elkington (15) caught the best wave that came through in the final and belted a series of radical manoeuvres to register his sixth consecutive Billabong Junior Series event win, pocketing R1 200 and taking the early lead in the series rankings. Fellow Kommetjie resident Eli Beukes hung onto second place ahead of Bryce Du Preez (East London) and Dillon Hendriks (Jeffreys Bay) who were third and fourth respectively.

  • Ies.

The u.14 Boys was another tight affair when Daniel Emslie, up from the u.12 division last year, found the best backup wave after all four finalists had registered one good ride each. Nate Spalding (Durban), Mitch du Preez (East London) and Travis Pearce finished in that order.

Kayla Nogueira secured her second title at the event when she dominated the u.14 Girls’ division, winning each heat she contested including the final where the Durbanite finished in front of Lisa van Heerden (Strand) and Aimee du Preez (East London). Caroline Brown (Cape Town) incurred a priority interference penalty that saw her lose one of her two counting rides, and she dropped from second to fourth place.

The u.12 Boys’ title went to Kyra Bennie (Durban) who convincingly beat local pair Nathan Plomaritis and C-Jay Posthumus with Ethan Currin in fourth. The u.12 Girls’ result was also affected by an interference call that saw Lisa van Heerden relegated to second spot behind winner Zia Hendriks, with Emma Bedser and Luanne Hurst collecting third and fourth places.

  • Tsecond to fourth in the youngest division in the series events, which is supported by Sea Harvest.

Luke Slijpen (Llandudno) boasted the best aerial manoeuvre during the VonZipper Airshow and took home R2 000 from the winner-takes-all 30-minute heat, while Davey Emslie was awarded the Billabong Best Claim of the Contest and a hamper of Billabong products.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.