CF Tennis tournament hailed a resounding success

2019-12-11 06:00
PHOTO: SUPPLIEDCF tennis tournament trophy winners.

PHOTO: SUPPLIEDCF tennis tournament trophy winners.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE annual Chris Folker (CF) Tennis tournament was held recenty at Kershaw Park tennis centre.

According to coach Chris Folker, a full field of budding tennis stars from U8s to U18s drew young tennis players from all over the province in preparation for the coastal tour ending in Cape Town in the coming weeks.

“The event kicked off with some exhilarating singles matches on Saturday. The players played under extreme conditions. A big thank you to aQuellé for keeping the children hydrated with some refreshing new flavours of their water,” said Folker, adding that the tennis on display was top class, giving the spectators some enthralling matches to watch.

Also, Folker said the energetic participants played their hearts out and impressed the organiser with their ability, progress and above all sportsmanship.

Folker highlighted that the event keeps growing, which is very encouraging.

“Hats off to the Kershaw Park Tennis Centre, for their wonderful facilities. Everyone experienced wonderful support from parents, grandparents and family members, which added to this event’s success,” said Folker.

Furthermore, Folker thanked Michael Porter from Harvard House for sponsoring the prize money, Brett Beckett from The Company Man’s for the parents doubles competition, and Paul Walters from Wedgewood for his Racefood.

“These valuable contributions from our local businesses is keeping tennis alive, and thriving in the KZN Midlands,” said Folker.


U8 Boys first place Oliver Nevay, second place Jack Royston.

U10 Boys first place Cameron de Robbilard, second place Imraan Mahamed.

U10 Boys second division, first place Ziyaad Asmal and second place Joshua MacFarlane.

U10 Girls first place Tessa Moreno, second place Gaby Nicholson.

U12 Boys first place Angus Fyvie, second place Connor van Heerden.

U12 Girls first place Jodi Merino, second place Olivia Clark.

U14 Boys first place Thando Tshili, second place Reuben MacFarlane.

Girls U14 first place Jade Kelly, second place Tamzin Gace


U8 Boys first place Oliver Nevay & Jack Royston, second place Jack MacFarlane and Jason Kingsley.

U10 Boys first place Finn Merrick and Daniel Haldane, second place Ziyaad and Shezaad Asmal.

U10 Girls first place Joy Wessels and Tessa Moreno, second place Gaby Nicholson and Sophie Clark.

U12 Boys first place Angus Fyvie and Connor van Heerden, second place- Jack Benkenstein and Joshua Nicholson.

U12 Girls first place Jade and Jasmin Kelly, second place Jodie Moreno and Olivia Clark.

U14 Boys first place Thando Tshili and Chad van Breda, second place Joshua Wessels and Levi Carbutt.

U14 Girls first place Tamzin Gace and Sophie Merrick Sportsmanship award: Joy Wessels, Rachel Todd, Zara Fyvie and Harry Porter.


Inside News24

Most Read
News In Your Area
Top Lifestyle
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.