Double standards in 21st century prevail

2017-02-15 06:03

CURRENTLY making international headlines are the U.S. president’s executive orders, one of which involves the barring of residents of seven countries from entering the U.S.

Probably unknown to many Witness readers is the fact that since 2012, 16 countries, all of which have Muslim heads of state, do not allow people with Israeli passports to enter their countries.

The 16 countries in alphabetical order are Algeria, Bangladesh, Brunei, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, UAE and Yemen.

Malaysia and Pakistan require clearance permits in transit only, while UAE allows transit only. In addition, nine of these countries may refuse entry to people with evidence of travel to Israel, or whose passports have either a used or unused Israeli visa.

Harsh and discriminatory as the actions of the countries are, there were no protests or the burning of embassies or college campuses. One cannot help but wonder at the double standards that are fast becoming the norm in the 21st century.




Inside News24


Matric Results are coming soon!

Notify me when results become available

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.