Former Bafana Bafana captain to be honoured in Eastwood

2018-10-17 06:05
Mbulelo Mabizela.PHOTO: sourced

Mbulelo Mabizela.PHOTO: sourced

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

FORMER Bafana Bafana star defender Mbulelo “OJ” Mabizela, as well as a number of South African Indoor team players, will be honoured during the Ward 34 Annual Community Awards on Friday (October 12).

The star-studded function is scheduled to be held at Eastwood’s Civic Centre from 5.45 pm and is expected to be a real red carpet affair.

The Ward 34 Annual Community Award local organising committee (Loc) met this week to wrap up preparations.

According to one of the Loc members, founder of the event and local veteran sports journalist Jerry Barnes, all is set for the function. He praised organisers for spending long hours trying to put it together.

“It’s all systems go and it’s happening. Personally I would like to thank everybody that made it possible for this function to go ahead and make it a reality. I won’t lie to you, it was not easy and was a big mission. I’m proud of our Loc members, donors, partners and sponsors who came on board. Nowadays people just don’t have time for their communities out there,”said Barnes.

Barnes says the function was not going to be possible without the likes of Poobie Govindasamy (Safa national executive member and Saifa president), Daryll Petersen (Daroz Components), Eastwood Taxi Association members Peter Petersen and Ronnie Jacobs, Ivy Terry- Adams, and Govenders Garage.

“These guys understood our vision, did not ask questions, came on board, dug deep into their pockets and joined hands with us.”

Besides Mabizela, other current national stars and former professionals to be honoured include Curtis Dos Santos, Quincy Ngcobo, Ebby Hoossen (all SA Indoor team), Alfie “Mangoo”Meintjies, and Keith Abrahams (former professionals).

Other household names from around Eastwood known for their contribution in juniors development are Deon “Rush” Warren, Aubrey Raw, Gerald Jackson, Shaun Potgieter (former Ajax Cape Town and Orlando Pirates), and Daryll Petersen (Eastwood Easter tournament).

Community members interested in attending, or looking for information, can contact Barnes at 083 521 9553 or e-mail



Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.