Ho, Weber show class Picture to Deep etch!

2015-11-25 06:23
PHOTO: jonathan burton Michelle Weber won the one     kilometre Capital K women’s title and the 10 km KZN Open Water Swimming Championships title at Midmar Dam over the weekend.

PHOTO: jonathan burton Michelle Weber won the one kilometre Capital K women’s title and the 10 km KZN Open Water Swimming Championships title at Midmar Dam over the weekend.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

LEADING South African open water swimming stars Chad Ho and Michelle Weber starred at the Capital K Swim at Midmar, which also doubled up as the KwaZulu-Natal Open Water Swimming Championships over the weekend.

On Saturday, Ho dominated the 10 km swim, which incorporated the five-kilometre distance over which he is world champion, while Weber placed second overall to Ho in the 10 km and followed that up with a victory over one kilometre on Sunday.

Ho showed his class when he cruised to victory in the 10 km event, also claiming the five kilometre honours en route to the title, passing through the halfway mark more than three minutes up on Tyrone Kruger and Weber, who were neck-and-neck at that time.

The six-time Midmar Mile champion crossed the finishing line in 2:05:53, seven minutes clear of Weber, with the former five kilometre world youth champion ending six seconds ahead of Kruger. Reuben Schoeman, the third man to finish, was in fourth place overall.

Robyn Kinghorn was fifth overall and second in the women’s race, while Sasha-Lee Nordengen-Corris placed sixth and third among the women.

Michael McGlynn claimed victory in the three-kilometre race, almost a minute clear of Chad Michau, with third place going to Carmen le Roux, who topped the women’s podium.

Yesterday, there was a superb battle for the women’s 14-30 win over one kilometre between 10 km winner Weber and three-kilometre champion Carmen le Roux. In a very tightly-contested race, Weber edged out Le Roux by a single second to win in 12:44. Charlise Oberholzer was third.

Dayne Odendaal bagged the men’s title, stopping the clock in 12:38, with Tyrone Kruger four seconds adrift, and Marco Smit 15 seconds off the pace.

Sheona Lottering, the winner of the Midmar Mile way back in 1996, left the field in her wake as she took the win in the 13-and-under and 31-and-over women’s race in 15:13. Alexandra Perry and Laiken Peters, both 13-and-under competitors, finished second and third respectively.

Seyuran Perumal held off James Parry for the boys’ title, winning by three seconds in 13:59, with Cameron McAllister not far off the leading pair in 14:10.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.