Mandela Marathon winners thrilled with results

2016-09-07 06:00
PHOTO: nokuthula khanyile Tsepang Ramonene at the finish.

PHOTO: nokuthula khanyile Tsepang Ramonene at the finish.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE 2016 Mandela Day Marathon 42km men’s winner, Tsepang Ramonene, said he knew he was going to win from the start. The Lesotho-born won the race run between Imbali and Howick and walked away with the R100 000 prize money.

“Before the race I got a pep talk from Gift Kelehe and he told me not to focus on the record, but on opening the gap between me and the person behind me.

“I trained hard and was determined to win this year after coming fourth last year,” he said.

Ramonene said last year he fell short after he was outpaced four kilometres from the finish.

“I observed that more runners tend to relax throughout the race and only up their speed towards the finish line, that is how I was defeated last year. This time around I decided to manage my pace to have control of the race.”

He said he was very happy with his 2:29:14 finish.

“I’m very happy that I represented the people of Lesotho well especially the people who helped me train back home, including Tsepo Mathibelle, who took part in the Rio Olympic Games this year.”

The pint-sized athlete said he was also preparing to take part in this year’s Hereos Marathon.

Selam Abere Alebachew from Ethopia defended her title and won the women’s 42km race. Alabachew also walked away with a R100 000 prize money after beating her 2015 record of 2:52:28.

Makhosazane Mhlongo from Hammarsdale, came third in the women’s 42km race and said she took three months preparing for the race.

“I’m very happy with my results; I will continue taking part in 42km races to improve my times for bigger races like the Comrades Marathon. I’m hopeful that in the coming years I will win the Mandela Day Marathon women’s race.”

Mhlongo said she is looking forward to competing in the SA Cross-Country championships this September.

Women’s 42km top 10

1. Selam Abere Alebachew

2. Chelitu Bogale Asefa

3. Makhosazane Ladyfair

4. Melanie Van Rooyen

5. Patience Khumalo

6. Lisa Collett

7. Mnganiseni Emman Mathibela

8. Lindani Notshongolo

9. Cathrine Malungane

10. Candyce Hall

Men’s 42km top 10

1. Tsepang Ramonene

2. Tekletsion Kassahun Tefera

3. Melly Kennedy

4. Jonas Makhele

5. Munya Jari

6. Bekele Getachewu Eshetu

7. Sefako Othaniel Phahlane

8. Tarisai Rakadza

9. Samuel Pazanga

10. Malibongwe Tioty Dlamini.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Competition regulation for a growing and inclusive economy

ADVERTORIAL: The Competition Commission of South Africa is conducting advocacy work in the South African automotive aftermarket industry and has gazetted a Draft Code of Conduct for public comment.

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.