Pitso asked to confirm or deny comments on refs

2019-11-06 06:01
The Premier Soccer League has given Pitso Mosimane five days to respond to the letters sent to him to either deny or admit the comments attributed to him in the media. PHOTO: gallo images

The Premier Soccer League has given Pitso Mosimane five days to respond to the letters sent to him to either deny or admit the comments attributed to him in the media. PHOTO: gallo images

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE Premier Soccer League (PSL) prosecutor has written to Mamelodi Sundowns head coach Pitso Mosimane in relation to the comments attributed to him on match officials last week.

The league prosecutor has given Mosimane five days to respond to the letters sent to him to either deny or admit the comments attributed to him in the media.

Meanwhile, the SA Football Association (Safa) Referees Review Committee has come out in support of referee Victor Hlungwani on how he handled the Mamelodi Sundowns v Kaizer Chiefs match at Loftus Versfeld on Sunday which the visitors won 2-0.

While some pundits and Sundowns coach Mosimane insisted that Chiefs’ opening goal by Samir Nurkovic was offside, the Safa Referees Review Committee has emphatically stated the goal was legitimate and that Hlungwani was correct in awarding the goal.

“During the match, when Kaizer Chiefs’ Reeve Frosler played the ball into the opponents’ penalty area, both Chiefs’ Leonardo Castro and Samir Nurkovic were not in an offside position.

“Sundowns’ Musa Lebusa and Chiefs’ Castro jumped to head the ball but both missed it,” explained the Review Committee.

“Castro neither played nor touched the ball from his team-mate, Frosler, and this is evidenced by the fact that the ball never changed direction nor the trajectory,” added the committee.

“Nurkovic was not in an offside position when the ball was initially played by his team-mate Frosler ... Castro did not make contact with the ball, the assistant referee was correct in not flagging for offside, based on fact connected with Law 11 (Offside).

“It then stand[s] to reason that Nurkovic scored a legitimate goal. It would have been a different decision had his team-mate Castro played or touched the ball, then the goal would have been disallowed in that instance,” concluded the committee findings.

Quoting the Laws of the Game 2019/20 Edition (page 99), the committee articulated the proceedings leading to the goal that Downs disputed.

According to Law 11 (Offside): “A player in an offside position at the moment the ball is played or touched by a team-mate is only penalised on becoming involved in active play by interfering with play by playing or touching a ball passed or touched by a team-mate …” read part of the Law. — SuperSport.

NEXT ON NEWS24X

Inside News24

 
/News
Traffic Alerts
Traffic
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.
 
English
Afrikaans
isiZulu

Hello 

Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.


Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.