Women in leadership in Umgungundlovu

2016-09-07 06:00

THE new administration of Umgungundlovu District Municipality is headed by women.

The ANC’s newly elected mayor, Thobekile Maphumulo and her deputy Thandi Rosemary Fucwane-Zungu, were voted into the top positions recently.

They are two of the 45 councillors who were sworn in at the district’s inaugural council meeting last Thursday at the Royal Showgrounds.

Maphumulo received 32 votes beating Inkatha Freedom Party’s Bukelani Zuma, whose nomination was seconded by the Democratic Alliance, and received 13 votes. Fucwane-Zungu was elected unopposed as deputy mayor.

Outgoing mayor Yusuf Bhamjee is now speaker after receiving 32 votes, while IFP’s Balozile Cynthia Sokhela, who also contested the position, received 13 votes. Edward Dladla was nominated unopposed as chief whip.

Speaker Bhamjee assured that he will ensure the ANC does not exploit its 71% majority.

Addressing council for the first time, Maphumulo said she was confident the new administration will take the municipality to metro status come 2021.

“As the newly elected council we will make sure we carry on where the old administration left off. We will however, need participation and feedback from the community to put more effort in everything we do.”

Maphumulo said they are aware of the challenges still facing the people of the district.

“We have a clear strategic plan to take us to 2021, this includes setting up rapid response teams to speed up service delivery and address backlog in our communities.”

The new council will start by addressing issues raised during door-to-door campaigns ahead of the local government elections she said.

“We will not begin to make empty promises, we will adopt integrated development planning to plan future developments in our areas. The IDP will speak to our budget allocation.”

Maphumulo urged the newly elected councillors to work with the community.

“Go to the people, listen to what they want and work with them so that they can take ownership of developments they see in their area.”

Executive committee members are Thobekile Maphumulo, Thandi Rosemary Fucwane Zungu, Chris Ndlela, Angel Bonani Mchunu, Gugu Dladla and Sbongile Mkhize

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.