Motherwell athletes awarded

2017-12-13 06:01
NMBSC official Shakes Ngcukana, Mwelase Mboxela (DSRAC) and MURP Malusi Andries with players and technical officials at the ceremony.Photo:SELBY MADIKANE

NMBSC official Shakes Ngcukana, Mwelase Mboxela (DSRAC) and MURP Malusi Andries with players and technical officials at the ceremony.Photo:SELBY MADIKANE

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE Motherwell Sports Forum (MSF) held its fourth annual Sport and Recreation Awards ceremony to honour their outstanding athletes and officials of the past year at the Raymond Mhlaba Indoor Sports Complex Hall on Friday evening.

MSF, which is affiliated with the Nelson Mandela Bay Sports Confederation (NMBSC), remains the most active local sports forum out of 12 local sports forums in promoting sport in communities within the Nelson Mandela Bay region.

MSF is fully committed to organising and hosting these awards annually to recognise and celebrate the achievements of sports played by Motherwell athletes during the year.

Attendees from the NMBSC, Department of Sports, Recreation, Arts and Culture (DSRAC) and local federations that are affiliated to MSF attended the event.

MSF chairman Sibongile Fondini said, “As a forum, we feel quite excited and take pride in that we finally managed to host this function successfully, despite the fact that we had no sponsor this season. We appreciate all the support that NMBSC has rendered to us to make this occasion become a resounding success,” said

Mwelase ‘Mbuda’ Mboxela, who represented the DSRAC, gave praise to Fondini for promoting mass sport participation in Motherwell despite being confronted by a lack of sponsors.

Fondini said, “I want to thank everybody who made it all happen and those who supported this occasion with their attendance last night.”

The outstanding players and officials who received trophies are as follows:

Sportswoman of the Year: Nombulelo Didi (boxing)

Sportsman of the Year: Anele Manona (karate)

Technical Official of the Year: Nkosinathi Zamela (boxing)

Coach of the Year: Thando Twenani Jnr (boxing)

Administrator of the Year: Lulama Tyibilika (tae bo dance)

Team of the Year: Youth for Change (athletics)

Recreation Awards: Andiswa Pikoli and Sibahle Dike

Chairman’s Special Award: Shihan Welcome ­Ngaleka


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.