Reid, Strauss lead at final local Olympic qualifier

2016-05-18 06:00
James Reid (Team Spur) leads the way in the Pro-Elite Men’s race. Photo: ANTON HAVENGA

James Reid (Team Spur) leads the way in the Pro-Elite Men’s race. Photo: ANTON HAVENGA

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

JAMES Reid (Team Spur) and Mariske Strauss (Novus OMX Pro Team) displayed their athletic dominance when they raced against some of the country’s top mountain bike enthusiasts at Settlers Park Nature Reserve in the fourth round of the Stihl 2016 SA XCO Cup Series in Port Elizabeth on Saturday, May 14.

Riders faced 4,2km laps with an elevation of 170m, suiting those with the strongest legs on the day.

With lots of climbing and a technical rock section called “Boulder Bash” that tested the skills of many, the track gave the contenders one last chance to score valuable points in this Olympic year.

Elite Women’s Winner, Mariske Strauss, who had led the bunch from the beginning, said, “It was a crazy track, but an awesome track. We need more of these in South Africa. There aren’t many tracks like these with a steep technical section – it’s great preparation for racing in Europe,” she said.

Elite Men’s winner, Reid, also led the charge from the get-go. “What a race out there – super challenging,” he said.

“The back story to this race was that Alan Hatherly (Kargo Pro MTB Team), Philip Buys (Scott Factory Racing powered by LCB) and myself are fighting for Olympic spots. So from the gun the three of us really fed it to each other – it really was no holds barred.”

The Junior competition, which formed part of the UCI Junior World Series, saw Tim Meier and Danielle Strydom take top honours in the Men’s and Women’s races respectively.

The fifth round of the 2016 SA National Downhill Cup Series will take place in the Free State on June 18. For info go to

Summary of results:

Pro-Elite Men

1.James Reid; 2.Alan Hatherly; 3.Philip Buys

Pro-Elite Women

1.Mariske Strauss; 2.Cherie Redecker; 3.Amy McDougall

Junior Men

1.Tim Meier; 2.Reinhard Zellhuber; 3.Wessel Botha

Junior Women

1.Danielle Strydom; 2.Kristen Louw

Youth Men

1.Ryan Conradie; 2.Michard Meets; 3.Brendan van Eeden

Youth Women

1.Zandri Strydom; 2.Kelsey van Schoor; 3.Rimari Sutton

Sub Veteran Men

1.Darryn Stow; 2. Michael Maine; 3.Renay Groustra

Veteran Men

1.Ewan Cochran; 2.Brendon Wood; 3.Ashton Ferreira

Veteran Women

1.Diana Carolin; 2.Christelle le Roux

Master Men

1.Didier Duc; 2.Errol Black; 3.Peter Venter

Sub Junior Boys

1.Travis Stedman; 2.Juan van Rooyen; 3.Krige vd Vyver

Sub Junior Girls

1.Chante Olivier; 2.Sarah van der Walt

Sprog Boys

1.Alec Coleske; 2.Jooste Coetzee; 3.Marcell Swartz

Sprog Girls

1.Madison Mann; 2.Sarah-Dene Wyllie

Nipper Boys

1.Connor Wright; 2.Francois de Jager; 3.Aiden Wright

Nipper Girls

1.Danel de Jager; 2.Hannah Elliott. – REPORTER


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.