Cape universities in action in Johannesburg

2018-10-02 10:45
Kurtley Arendse of the University of the Western Cape in action.

Kurtley Arendse of the University of the Western Cape in action.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

The four universities in the Western Cape – the University of Cape Town, Stellenbosch University, University of the Western Cape and Cape Peninsula University of Technology – are participating in the Varsity 7s Tournament on Friday 5 and Saturday 6 October at Pirates Greenside in Johannesburg.

“Twelve teams will now compete for the title, with the competitors being split up into three pools. CPUT, Wits and Walter Sisulu University will form part of the best 12 university sevens teams in the country. The tournament will take on a pool format, instead of the round-robin format of previous years,” says Xhanti-Lomzi Nesi, Varsity 7s manager.

The 12 teams have been split into three pools with four teams in each pool. The top two teams per group and next best two teams qualify for the Varsity 7s quarter-finals.

Nesi explains that the change in format was to prepare the players for the higher echelons of the game as well as create an improved product for spectators.

“The reason we wanted to take Varsity 7s from the full round-robin format to pool stages was that it was in the best commercial interest of the business and of our sponsors. We found that we lost a lot of consumers through a three-day tournament. The market became oversaturated with people watching sevens from early in the morning to late in the afternoons, and over three days. We believed it would be able to captivate the audience and the crowd if we played it over two days.

“It also allows the teams to play in a more traditional sevens setup as they do in other sevens tournaments, such as USSA where they qualify for the Varsity 7s tournament,” she says.

UWC and CPUT are both contesting Pool A, while UCT is drawn in Pool B with Maties in Pool C.

The Varsity 7s pools:

Pool A: UWC (University of the Western Cape), CPUT (Cape Peninsula University of Technology), NMU (Nelson Mandela University), WSU (Walter Sisulu University)

Pool B: UJ (University of Johannesburg), UP-Tuks (University of Pretoria), UCT (University of Cape Town), Wits (University of the Witwatersrand)

Pool C: NWU-Pukke (North West University), Maties (Stellenbosch University), Kovsies (University of the Free State), UKZN (University of Kwazulu-Natal)

For all news, fixtures, logs and updates online visit or visit the Varsity 7s Facebook page.


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.