Eddie conferred as an Alderman

2019-08-13 06:01
Eddie Andrews

Eddie Andrews

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

During its full council sitting on Wednesday 31 July, 10 councillors of the City of Cape Town were conferred the title of Alderman in terms of its Conferment of Civic Honours Policy.

According to a statement, the title is a fitting one to be bestowed upon councillors who, among other criteria, have served on one or more local government bodies within the Republic of South Africa for several years; particularly as an elder, and are generally expected to mentor, advise, share their experiences and create a sense of unity for their communities.

Ward 78 councillor Eddie Andrews said to be conferred as an Alderman in the City of Cape Town is an overwhelming moment for him, especially considering that he is the first member from Wolfgat subcouncil 12 to receive this title.

“I will sustain my efforts to ensure the needs of my community continually guide me. This approach has been my driving force as an elected public office bearer,” he said. The 10 councillors who have been conferred the title of Alderman are Eddie Andrews, Albertus Basson, Cynthia Clayton, Gerhard Fourie, Bonita Jacobs, Xanthea Limberg, Siva Moodley, Rose Rau, Johannes Van der Merwe, as well as Antonio Van der Rheede.


Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.