Karting champs crowned

2016-11-01 06:00
 All but one karting championship title were decided at Killarney on Saturday.  PHOTO: heinrich sauer

All but one karting championship title were decided at Killarney on Saturday. PHOTO: heinrich sauer

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Sebastian Boyd from Camps Bay won second place in the WP high school Junior Max 125cc karting championship at Killarney this past Saturday. Jason Coetzee was the winner in this class.

According to a statement by the WPMC Kart Club, Coetzee, Dino Stermin, Jonathan Thomas and Joaquin d’Oliveira were crowned this year’s Western Cape karting champions.

Jody van Rensburg and the Visser brothers, Charl and Kyle, took the three club titles. Only the Maxterino crown remains to be decided following an outstanding technical enquiry.

The Cape karters assembled at Killarney on a bright but blustery day, where some titles were a mere formality while others were closer fought. Coetzee (RKT Kosmic) basically just had to start all three races to win the WP high school Junior Max 125cc championship.

Dario Busi (Automan CRG) won his last kart race before the 14-year-old steps up to the main circuit in the GTi Challenge next year.

That was, however, not enough to topple Boyd (Boyd Boss Freight Kosmic) from second place in the title chase. Simon Simpson-Heath (Sakra Kosmic) upset the apple cart with a best-ever fourth in class ahead of Andrew Rackstraw and Aidan Strydom to take third. That was not enough to steal the championship fourth from Rackstraw (TonyKart) or Strydom (TurboTech CRG), but Simpson-Heath did jump to sixth in the championship chase in the end.

Stermin (Designer Trims RKT Kosmic) added a back-to-back WP 125cc open Senior Max title to his junior championship title of last year. He did not have an easy day of it as wild card Luke Herring came back to win the class on the day with race 2 and 3 wins aboard his Kosmic from race 1 winner Stermin, championship runner-up Delano Fowler (Suprocom WOrr FA) and Umpie Swart (CRG) following a day-long battle.

Cate Walker made a welcome comeback in fifth on a Sakra Kosmic ahead of Arnold du Toit, who ended third in the championship chase.

A dominant triple victory for Julian van der Watt (RKT Kosmic) was not enough to wrest a second WP DD2 gearbox kart title away from Jonathan Thomas (Partners Hair CRG) or third from Tristan de Nobrega (Race Driver SA CRG), who ended second and third respectively on the day and first and second in the title race. Van der Watt was unable to make up the points deficit after he missed a meeting earlier in the season.

There was a surprise in the baby u.8 Cadet class when Joshua Smit emerged the triple winner on the day to leave Joaquin de Oliveira to pip Paul Malcolm (FastOil/Charl Electric) to the champion’s post, even though Paul beat Joaquin to second on the day. Reese Koorzen’s fourth place on the day was just enough to prevent Smit from nabbing a championship third, while Reza Levy beat Ethan Deacon to fifth.

The primary school Maxterino 60cc championship is still to be decided in a courtroom, but Joseph Oelz (Zanardi) won the day as one of three drivers to share wins alongside race 1 winner Charl Visser (Battery Energy RKT Kosmic) and race 3 victor Troy Dolinschek (Makita Kosmic). The consistent Kai van Zijl (CRG) took second on the day from Visser, Jason MacBeath (Zanardi), the younger Visser brother, Kyle (Zanardi), and Dolinschek. Either Oelz or Charl Visser will become champion once an appeal over a technicality on Visser’s kart from an earlier meeting is resolved.

Three Cape Club titles were also decided on Saturday as Jody van Rensburg wrapped up the overall and Class A Cape Clubmans title. Andrew Thomas and Marchant Bellingan won second and third overall as they took the respective Class B and C Clubmans championships.

The Visser brothers wrapped up the respective inaugural Mini and Micro Max titles as Charl beat Kai van Zijl and Joseph Oelz to Mini honours and Kyle followed Julius Schweiger and Reza Levy home in Micro on the day.

The Cape karters will return to action early next year, likely with a slightly different look to the bottom end of the championship as the Micro and Mini classes gain traction and various drivers move up into new age classes.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.