Moir, Robb glide to a win

2017-06-13 06:03
Simone Robb

Simone Robb (Ian Thurtell)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Former ISA World Champions Matthew Moir and Simone Robb showed their class in tiny Muizenberg surf last Sunday when they won their respective men’s and women’s finals in the Tigers Milk Winter Classic, a World Surfing League (WSL) speciality event.

The epic men’s longboard final saw the four contestants giving a top class performance as they all posted high level scores in marginal surf. With just minutes to go, defending champion Alfonso Peters held a narrow lead and looked certain to take his second title in a row, but the double World Champion never gave up and with just seconds to go caught the wave which gave him the lead and the title. Moir won the 2015 Tigers Milk Classic but had to settle for second last year. Both longboarders competed in a WSL world championship event in Papua New Guinea a month or so ago. Tristan Lev was third in the final and Muizenberg local Nobel de Castro came fourth.

Robb, the defending women’s division champion, took command from the beginning of the final and was well ahead when the siren sounded for the end of the heat. Shannon Hughes was second and Angela Craemer secured third place with Raylin Wynne taking fourth spot.

In a fitting climax to the men’s surfing division four local surfers featured in the final. The final included SA team members Brandon Benjamin and Western Province surfers, Dillon Fernandez, Papi Makanyane and Paul Chudleigh. Top seed Benjamin made a good start but in the end Fernandez took the honours. Makanyane was third and Chudleigh took fourth place.

Top ranked South Africa surfer Faye Zoetmulder won the women’s surfing title edging defending champion Tarryn Chuleigh into second place. Danielle Johnson came third and Natasha van Greunen was fourth.

Michael Grendon won the u.40 Longboard Division with Gavin Moir taking second place ahead of SA Longboard President Paul O’Connell. Whaldo de Kock was fourth. The u.23 men’s and women’s honours went to Dylan Swindale and Caroline Brown respectively while the SUP men’s and women’s champions were Nathan van Vuuren and Chelsea van Rooyen.

Finalists shared R50 000 in prize money and won product prizes from Mami Wata, the support sponsor for the event. William Stander, who entered the u.23 longboard division and was eliminated in round one, won the beautifully crafted Mami Wati longboard shaped by Hugh Thompson.


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.