Residents honoured

2019-02-26 06:00
The residents who received Civic Honours, pictured with councillors and PR councillors of the Wolfgat subcouncil.     PHOTOS: Samantha lee

The residents who received Civic Honours, pictured with councillors and PR councillors of the Wolfgat subcouncil. PHOTOS: Samantha lee

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

The Wolfgat Subcouncil (subcouncil 12) hosted its annal Civic Awards on Thursday, celebrating residents doing exemplary work in wards 78, 79, 81 and 82, with the addition of one resident from ward 99.

Subcouncil manager Johnson Fetu thanked the residents for their commitment and said the event was important as it showed those residents doing extraordinary work in the community that they are loved and appreciated. He further thanked the councillors and residents who had nominated the residents for the awards and for making the event a success.

The winners were as follows:Ward 78

Marina Speckman for her work with youth.Ward 79

Farieda Dalvie for her work promoting health and fitness among seniors.

Edries Mussa for driving positive change in youth in Beacon Valley.

Preston Adams for creating employment and development opportunities for himself and others.

Valarie Ditta for her commitment to seniors.

Caroline Mentor for her commitment to safety in ward 79.

Jacobie Appolis for being an inspiration to youth.

Janine Overmeyer, also known as Blaqpearl, for empowering young women in Mitchell’s Plain.Ward 81

Valerie Moses for outstanding contribution to safety and security.

Portlands Block B Watch for ensuring safety in Portlands.

Alesia Bosman for her dedication to the development and bettering of the community.

Imaan Ahmed, a nine-year-old girl who was nominated by Eddie Marshall, a member of the Block B Watch. Imaan was honoured for bravery and her heroic, quick-thinking actions that saved her three-year-old brother’s life.Ward 82

Sakiena Daniels for her role in the Child Rapid Response Team and other safety forums.

Patronella Sapto for her dedication to early childhood development.

Marilyn van der Spuy for her dedication in assisting vulnerable citizens.

Najuwa Gallant for assisting backyard dwellers.

Charmaine Marhorta for her dedication to safety and security.

Michell Jurias for her work with youth.

Captain Raymond Solomon, Tafelsig sector commander for his role in combating crime and his development of and commitment to youth.Ward 99

Najuwa Galant for fighting for the rights of residents and working with residents of City rental units.


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.