Lions induct new members

2018-07-26 06:00
Melissa Westerdale and Brian Eva.PHOTOS: supplied

Melissa Westerdale and Brian Eva.PHOTOS: supplied

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

PORT Shepstone Lions, Lion Ladies and their guests celebrated the club’s 48th Annual Presidential Induction at the Port Shepstone Country Club recently.

Club president, past council chairperson, Denis Meyer paid tribute to both the Lions and Lion Ladies for an extremely successful year of community service and fundraising projects.

During his valedictory speech, Meyer announced that the Lion of the Year Trophy is to be awarded to Clayton Curnow in recognition of his outstanding support and commitment throughout the course of the year.

Curnow was not present to receive the award as he is currently on holiday.

President’s appreciation medals were awarded to past district governor Martin Rundle for convening the 2018 South Coast Lions’ Show, Lion Justin Hinchliff for his outstanding fundraising efforts, Lion Norman Holmes for successfully running the club’s bar facility, Lion Kevin Ross for his ongoing dedication to community service projects and for organising the many social functions within the club as well as to club treasurer Richard Borradaile for looking after the club’s finances during the past year. The Stirrer of the Year Trophy was awarded to Hinchliff.

A number of appreciation certificates were also presented to various members and Lion Ladies for their valued contributions. Outgoing Lion Lady President June Rundle praised the Lion Ladies for their ongoing projects in support of the needy and presented appreciation gifts to several of the ladies. The floating trophy for Lion Lady of the Year was presented to Audrey Leggett in recognition of her tireless efforts with a number of fundraising projects.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of a Citizen of the Year Award to Rajen Mahabeer in recognition of his tireless and ongoing commitments to feeding hungry children through his Hibiscus Food For Life project.

Ten club members were awarded for 100% attendance of club meetings throughout the past year.

New members Jason Watt and Noel Pieterse were formally inducted by past council chairperson Paul Brauteseth and welcomed into the Port Shepstone Pride of Lions.

Brauteseth then formally inducted Lion Dale McGarry as club president for the 2018/2019 fiscal year.

In his acceptance speech, McGarry thanked his predecessor for his outstanding leadership of the club and undertook to further promote membership growth, fellowship and increased service activities for the forthcoming year. — Supplied.


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.