Mountain bike race - ‘wild’

2015-11-11 06:00
Celebrating their wins (from left) Leeroy Emslie (second), Myan Moodley (general manager), Andrew Hill (first) and James Theunissen (third). PHOTOS: Gary Bircher

Celebrating their wins (from left) Leeroy Emslie (second), Myan Moodley (general manager), Andrew Hill (first) and James Theunissen (third). PHOTOS: Gary Bircher

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

MORE than 200 cyclists headed to the Wild Coast Sun for the first mountain bike race on Saturday on the border of KZN and the Eastern Cape

The weather was perfect for a day of intense mountain biking with overcast conditions and a south-westerly breeze cooling the air after incessant heat and humidity during the week.

Race director Marlise Joubert reminded participants of the “wild” aspect of the course with some difficult uphill and rocky sections.

Although commenting on the toughness of the race, the majority were astounded by the lovely views of the Indian Ocean and Mzamba Valley, especially from the waterpoint at Beacon Hill.

In true winning fashion, top SA cyclist and experienced stage racer Andrew Hill finished the 40km in a time of 1:47:51, while the current woman’s SA U23 champion Hayley Smith was victorious with a time of 2:20:56.

After the race, many spent the day in the Wild Waves Waterpark, either relaxing at the Mangwanani African Spa tent where free foot massages were given or enjoying the water slides with family members and friends. Winners of the previous categories walked away with a total of
R23 000 in prize money.

General manager Myan Moodley was encouraged by the great turn-out for the new race and looks forward to building on the trails that will be utilised regularly by professionals and amateurs.

- Supplied.

MTB results:


Overall male

1st Andrew Hill 1:47:51

2nd Leeroy Emslie

3rd James Theunissen

Overall female

1st Hayley Smith 2:20:56

2nd Alexandra Mapstone

3rd Debrah Thomas


Overall male

1st Gustav Lindenberg 1:19:17

2nd Eric Ndovela

3rd Ayrton Barron

Overall female

1st Megan Bircher 1:17:18

2ns Mandy Matthysen

3rd Simone Buys

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.