Dawnheights honours top achievers

2016-07-13 06:00
Photo: supplied Rajiv “Tambuti” Singh, Adhir Maharaj, Nikilesh Misra and Suveer Maharaj proudly show off their KZN Challenge League trophy.

Photo: supplied Rajiv “Tambuti” Singh, Adhir Maharaj, Nikilesh Misra and Suveer Maharaj proudly show off their KZN Challenge League trophy.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

DAWNHEIGHTS Cricket Club honoured their top achievers in the 2015/2016 season at a glittering awards presentation ceremony held at the Quartz Conference Centre in Manor on Saturday.

Rajiv “Tambuti” Singh was grinning from ear to ear at the awards banquet and really one could not blame him after Dawnheights were crowned KwaZulu-Natal Challenge League (Stream Two) champions with Singh at the helm. He was full of praise for all players, officials and more importantly the supporters, who came out in their numbers every weekend to support the boys.

The talented Adesh Bageloo was voted player of the year in the senior category. Matthew Dean of Richards Bay was voted the best bowler. Sagar Arora of India, who notched up a phenomenal 414 runs in the 2015/2016 season including a top-score of 107 runs was voted best batsman of the club. Last month KZN Cricket Union honoured Arora after voting him the best bowler in the KZN Challenge League. Surauv Singh and Arhad Singh were voted the best fielder and most improved player respectively. The coveted president’s award was won by Privesh Balipersad.

In the domestic Twenty-20 League and 50-Overs League, Suhail “Soya” Singh was adjudicated player of the year. Tokeer Malik grabbed the batting award with Keane Govender walking away with the bowling award.
The good-looking Salman Khan, a replica of the Bollywood star, was voted the best fielder in the domestic league competition.

In the U16 League, Adesh Bageloo was voted the best batsman with his twin brother, spin sensation Santhir Bageloo scooping the bowling award. Wasim Suleman walked away with the fielding award and the coveted player of the year award in the U16 ranks. Arveer Maharaj was voted the most improved player in the U16 ranks.

At the 31st annual general meeting held prior to the awards banquet, Rajiv “Tambuti” Singh was re-elected as president of the club for the third year in succession. Other officials elected to serve the ever popular Dawnheights outfit for the new season were vice-presidents Nikilesh Misra and Shaneel Maharaj, secretary Shahil Ramsunder, records clerk Suhail Singh, treasurer Suveer Maharaj and public relations officer Isaac Abraham.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.