Ethekwini hosts masters tourney

2016-07-27 06:00
 Photo: supplied Last year’s winners.

Photo: supplied Last year’s winners.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

ETHEKWINI Volleyball’s hugely successful inaugural Masters Tournament that catered for players in the over 40 years category last year has prompted the organisers to host the event annually.

“The response from our volleyball stars from yesteryear to provide them with a platform to dazzle the fans has been phenomenal,” said Lawrence Naidoo, Ethekwini Volleyball President.

Naidoo went on to say that with Geness Foundation as their sponsor once again the event promises to be bigger than they anticipated.

“Twenty four men’s teams and four women’s teams from around KZN and Gauteng have already registered for the 6 August event,”added Naidoo.

Among the teams of the yesteryear are Apollo, Liberte, Kingston, Mitch Park, W.B.Dolphins, Delfos, Club Meadow and Invaders.

Entry to the one day tournament at Westville campus Sports Centre is free. The opening fixtures begin at 9am.

Fans can look forward to see in action the likes of Marcillino Harold, Pradeep “King” Singh, Jason Govender; Mervyn Barney Naidoo, Size Vardhan, Rusty Narain, Pride Pillay, Balan Govender, Christy Pillay, Yogas Reddy, Ravi Soobramoney, Matthew Govender, Durugan Govender, Kriben Naicker; Deena Pillay and Sunil Geness.

For more information Lawrence Naidoo can be contacted on 084 508 2988.


Inside News24


Matric Results are coming soon!

Notify me when results become available

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.