Govender is re-elected as Basa president

2018-11-14 06:02

PASTOR Kennedy Govender of Eastbury Baptist Church was unanimously re-elected president of the Baptist Association of South Africa (Basa) at their annual meeting held at the Tongaat Baptist Church on Saturday.

In his presidential address, Govender thanked the churches for the confidence they vested in him to lead the association for another year and urged all churches to get involved in all facets of the association, including the men, women, Sunday school, youth and outreach department.

Pastor Lenny of Devasagayam of Umhlali Baptist Church was returned unopposed as the vice-president of Basa.

Indira Rangiah of Tongaat Baptist Church was elected as secretary of Basa with Sundhari Rangiah of Kearsney Baptist Church appointed treasurer for the second year in succession.

The assistant secretary is Pastor Kevin Mark of Umhlali and Tammy Samuel of Stanger Baptist Church will serve as assistant treasurer.

Pastors Lenny Ryan (Durban South), Victor Rhandram (Durban North), Prabs Naidoo (Stanger Circuit) and Vincent Benjamin were elected deputy presidents of the respective regions.

Isaac Abraham of Stanger Baptist Church was unanimously re-elected as youth leader of Basa for the second year running. Jerrol Nair of Darnall Baptist Church was elected records clerk. Charmaine Khan of Stanger Manor was elected as the CED leader.

Rhandram will serve as the confidential consultant of the association with Kennedy Govender and Prabs Naidoo occupying the positions of men’s leader and missions’ department leader, respectively. Pastor Moses Pillay of Stanger Baptist Church was nominated to serve on the IEC of the association.

The 2019 Easter Assembly will be hosted by the Durban South churches, with Risecliff Baptist Church to spearhead the annual event.


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts

Jobs in Cape Town [change area]

Jobs in Western Cape region

HSE Manager

Cape Town
Tumaini Consulting
R550 000.00 - R650 000.00 Per Year

Cluster Financial Manager

Cape Town
Network Finance
R950 000.00 - R1 000 000.00 Per Year

IT Manager (contract)

Cape Town CBD
Communicate Cape Town IT
R330 000.00 - R458 000.00 Per Year

Property [change area]

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.