McGregor and Furby storm to Dolphin Coast title

2016-08-24 06:00
Despite a mishap that cost them the opening stage victory Euro Steel/EPic Kayak’s Hank McGregor and Lee Furby dominated day two to win the Gara Dolphin Coast Challenge from Suncoast Pirates to Zinkwazi over the two days from Saturday 20 to Sunday 21 August.  Photo: supplied

Despite a mishap that cost them the opening stage victory Euro Steel/EPic Kayak’s Hank McGregor and Lee Furby dominated day two to win the Gara Dolphin Coast Challenge from Suncoast Pirates to Zinkwazi over the two days from Saturday 20 to Sunday 21 August. Photo: supplied

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

WITH a tough overnight deficit to overturn the pair of Hank McGregor and Lee Furby paddled like men possessed as they stormed to overall victory on the second stage of the Gara Dolphin Coast Challenge from Salt Rock to Zinkwazi on Sunday.
The opening stage took paddlers 42kms from Suncoast Pirates Surf Lifesaving Club to Salt Rock and the mild conditions gave the pair of Matt Bouman and Wade Krieger the edge as they pipped Euro Steel/Epic Kayak’s McGregor and partner Furby to the opening day honours. The Epic Kayak’s pair of Bouman and Krieger were in the pound seats following the opening stanza and went into the second 32km leg of the race with a 40 second advantage over the chasing McGregor and Furby whilst Fenn Kayak's Luke Nisbet and REVO Kayak's/Bay Union's Gene Prato were three minutes back in third.
The opening day of the race was not without drama as the final sprint ended in a win for Bouman and Krieger after a mishap from McGregor and Furby which cost them the stage win.

"We were hoping to win both days but we had a little altercation with a surfer and we fell off our ski on the sprint to the beach on Saturday," McGregor mentioned after their overall win.
"That error definitely made us more hungry to win the second stage and I am stoked that myself and Lee were able to put in the performance we did today to claim the Dolphin Coast title.
"Being part of the race from a sponsorship point of view just made it that much better to win - it was a great stage for us to be on and win on."
The race was an exciting one heading into final stage and all the contenders decided to take varying lines in the benign conditions on Sunday with McGregor and Furby's tactics proving to be the difference on the day.
"We decided to not go too deep today and rather remain in the shallower water whilst Matt and Wade went deep which made quite a big difference at the end of the race.
"Steve (Woods) and Bevan (Manson) used a similar tactic to us and they managed to get second on the stage today.
"The conditions were tough today with an off shore wind blowing and I think that the fitter pairs were able to benefit from it," added McGregor.
The 40 second deficit that McGregor and Furby had to overturn on the second day was going to be a tough ask however they made a push heading into the final half of the day and never looked back after that until they were over the line.
"We got to Blythdale and I told Lee that we needed to stretch the guys, and we did that.
"Making up the time was the first goal and then we pushed as hard as we could to Zinkwazi and we are just really happy to have got the win!" a satisfied McGregor commented.
Despite a barnstorming second day, which saw them finish second, the pair of Woods and Manson ended outside the top three with Nisbet and Prato taking the final podium spot.
One of the stand out results was the Carbonology mixed duo of Bailey de Fondaumiere and Hayley Nixon as they ended in tenth place overall while the Fenn Kayak's ladies pair of Nikki Russell and Jenna Ward, the only all-ladies pair in the race, came home in fourteenth place overall.

1. Hank McGregor/Lee Furby 2:36:52 2:15:12 4:52:04
2. Matt Bouman/Wade Krieger 2:36:12 2:19:15 4:55:27
3. Luke Nisbet/Gene Prato 2:39:47 2:17:25 4:57:12
4. Steve Woods/Bevan Manson 2:44:35 2:16:58 5:01:34
5. Linton Hope/Zoog Heyns 2:48:48 2:28:06 5:16:55
6. Herman Chalupsky/Mark Perrow 2:50:45 2:29:19 5:20:05
7. Brett Hadiaris/Keagan Kruger 2:52:35 2:33:52 5:26:28
8. Michel de Rauville/Jason Ekstrand 2:57:40 2:28:55 5:26:35
9. Quinton Rutherford/Bryan Taylor 2:54:14 2:33:34 5:27:49
10. Bailey de Fondaumiere/Hayley Nixon (Mixed) 2:55:13 2:33:19 5:28:32
1. Nikki Russell/Jenna Ward 3:07:11 2:36:37 5:43:48


Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.