Shanmagum lifts Dilley Puckree Memorial Darts Singles title

2017-10-25 06:02
PHOTO: suppliedDarrel Shanmagum beat Vasa Rungasamy.

PHOTO: suppliedDarrel Shanmagum beat Vasa Rungasamy.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE Dilley Puckree Memorial Darts Singles Tournament drew a large crowd at the Quartz Sportsbar and Conference Centre on Wednesday with over 30 players chasing the title.

The top half of the draw saw tournament favourite Len Naidoo beat Deena Reddy in the first game 2-1.

Julian Moonsamy beat Tridev Singh 2-1. Vasa Rungasamy, producing good darts throughout the season, beat Terrence Subban 2-0.

Ajen Singh beat the more experienced Nine Pillay who fail to close on a double 2-1. All winners advanced into the quarter-finals.

The bottom half saw Neeran Somnath beat veteran Paddy Padayachee 2-1.

Jerry Arunachellum beat Charlie Pillay 2-0. Darrel Shanmagum beat Neville Moonsamy 2-0.

Ashley Haripersadh beat the more fancied Sanjay Singh 2-0 and Naven Coopsamy beat Ashley 2-0 to advance into the quarters.

With strong contention in the quarter-finals, the top half of the draw saw Naidoo beat Moonsamy 2-1 and Rungasamy beat Ajen Singh 2-0 to meet Naidoo. Bottom half saw Somnath beat Arunachellum 2-1 and Shanmagum beat Coopsamy 2-1 to meet Arunachellum. The first semi-finals between Naidoo and Rungasamy was a real humdinger as Naidoo won the first set.

Rungasamy came back fighting and won the second set to level the scores.
In the third set Rungasamy proved too strong and beat Naidoo 2-1 to advance into the final.

Bottom half saw Shanmagum beat Arunachellum in the first set 1-0 and Arunachellum came up with a strong fight in the second set to level the scores 1-1.

In the third set Shanmagum notched up good tallies and beat Arunachellum 2-1 to meet Rungasamy in the finals.

The finals drew large crowds as supporters from both clubs cheered their players.

In the first set Shanmagum drew first blood and won the first game 1-0.
This did not stop Rungasamy as he came from a set down to level the score 1-1.
The final set was do-ordie as both players produced good darts, but it was Shanmagum who had the better spoils of the night as stepped up his tempo and claimed the Dilley Puckree Memorial single’s title.

Tonight (Wednesday) the association will host a team doubles sponsored by Vinesh Geanbally and family.


Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.