EC radio station wins national award

2018-04-19 06:01

Nelson Mandela Bay is home to South Africa’s top commercial radio station.

Algoa FM received the Commercial Station of the Year award as well as three category awards at the annual Liberty Radio Awards ceremony hosted in Gauteng on Saturday, April 14.

“It is the first time in history that a commercial radio station outside of Gauteng has won Station of the Year and we are both proud and thankful to our loyal audience, our clients and our staff who continually inspire us to new heights,” says operations director Alfie Jay.

In addition, Algoa FM managing director Dave Tiltmann was inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame.

Tiltmann started as a music compiler and announcer in 1989 on what was then a SABC station, Radio Algoa.

He was part of the team, which 20 years ago privatised the station and made it the first independent commercial radio station in the Eastern Cape.

The annual Big Walk for Cancer, which is the Eastern Cape’s biggest charity event, won both the commercial radio award for Community Project and the commercial radio award for Promotion/Stunt/Event.

The Algoa FM Top 30 with Wayne Hart, won in the Daytime Show category.



Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.