ANCWL nominates candidates for its top five positions

2015-08-07 20:35
Happy ANCWL delegates at the elective conference in Pretoria. (Genevieve Quintal, News24)

Happy ANCWL delegates at the elective conference in Pretoria. (Genevieve Quintal, News24)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Pretoria - The ANC Women's League (ANCWL) has nominated candidates for the organisation's top five positions.

Delegates attending the long-awaited elective conference were due to vote on Friday.

Results are expected to be announced late in the evening or in the early hours of Saturday morning.

Current Women's League president Angie Motshekga is being opposed by Social Development Minister Bathabile Dlamini.

On Thursday, delegates showed their preferences for president through hand signals.

Those who wanted Motshekga to retain her position held up two fingers for a second term and those wanting change used the soccer sign of rolling their hands.

Sisi Ntombela has been elected deputy president unopposed.

The position of secretary general is being contested by the incumbent, Sisi Tolashe, and Meokgo Matuba.

Grizelda Cjiekella-Lecholo and Weziwe Tikana are standing for deputy secretary general.

The nominations for treasurer are current ANCWL spokesperson and Environmental Affairs Minister Edna Molewa and International Relations Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane.

Read more on:    ancwl  |  pretoria  |  politics

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.
NEXT ON NEWS24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Competition regulation for a growing and inclusive economy

ADVERTORIAL: The Competition Commission of South Africa is conducting advocacy work in the South African automotive aftermarket industry and has gazetted a Draft Code of Conduct for public comment.

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.