Eskom gives Free State reprieve on power cut

2014-08-02 09:31
(Duncan Alfreds, News24)

(Duncan Alfreds, News24)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Johannesburg - Eskom has agreed to suspend the disconnection of bulk electricity to Free State municipalities, the power utility said on Friday.

"An agreement has been reached that allows for further detailed engagements and development of payment plans by all affected municipalities during August 2014," Eskom said.

The disconnection was planned to start on Monday.

No details on the agreement were available.

The Democratic Alliance welcomed the agreement between Eskom and the Free State provincial government on the municipal electricity debt.

However, the DA's David van Vuuren said the municipalities were unable to manage their finances.

Financial situation

"Free State municipalities are unable to manage their finances appropriately. They also fail dismally in the collection of outstanding revenue from residents," Van Vuuren said.

"Last year Free State municipalities failed to collect more than R5.4bn in household debt. Paying residents cannot be held responsible and threatened with suspension of services because of the incompetence of municipalities."

He said Eskom's non-payment by municipalities for services rendered should be dealt with by the cabinet.

The Free State provincial government was not in a healthy financial situation, he said.

"The Free State, at local and provincial government level, is heading toward a financial crisis," Van Vuuren said.

"The current state of affairs is indicative of an embedded culture of unaccountability, lack of transparency and recklessness within municipalities and provincial departments."

In September 2013, Eskom published a notice that it was planning to disconnect electricity to the Maluti-A-Phofung municipality, which failed to settle a bill of more than R205m.

Some of the money was outstanding for more than 90 days.

Eskom planned to disconnect power to the municipality on 4 December 2013.

Towns and municipal areas affected would have been Harrismith, QwaQwa, Kestell, Tshiame, Phuthaditjhaba, Tsheseng, and Witsieshoek.

A similar notice was published for the Ngwathe municipality, which apparently owed more than R188m.

Towns and areas affected by this notice were Edenville, Heilbron, Koppies, Parys, Phiritona, and Vredefort.

Read more on:    eskom  |  bloemfontein  |  energy

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.
NEXT ON NEWS24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.