Freshlyground win 4 Samas

2008-05-05 11:10

Cape Town - Freshlyground have won four awards at the 14th Annual MTN South African Music Awards ceremony including Album of the Year for Macheri.

South Africa's top music awards were presented at the Sun City Super Bowl on Saturday night.

The event, that was broadcast live on SABC1, was hosted for the second consecutive year by kwaito kingpin Kabelo, who proved to be an all-round entertainer.

Hip Hop Pantsula and Karen Zoid were respectively named Best Male Solo Artist and Best Female Solo Artist, whereas Tasha Baxter was named Best Newcomer. The MTN Record of the Year is DJ Sdunkero's Maputo Song.

After all the winners were named and acceptance speeches were delivered, a selection of 14 Sama nominees showcased their talents to the audience.

Star performances

The show kicked off with an emotive performance by Jub Jub and Jaziel Brothers before the party really got going when dance-floor doyens DJ Sdunkero and T'zozo en Professor got a massive response to their kwaito hits.

Kurt Darren showed his range with two hits - one for the feet and another for the heart - before a very moving tribute to much-loved late singer and Lifetime Achiever Gé Korsten.

MXO and Zonke got together for a power-packed collaboration that celebrated their shared roots before The Parlotones took to the stage to entertain the excited audience with their melodic rock.

Freshlyground performed next with Kwela Tebza and Lucky Dube's band One People (the house band for all live performances) to pay a touching tribute to the late reggae legend, the evening's second Lifetime Achiever.

The party got going again when DJ Vetkuk vs Mahoota rocked out one of their huge club hits before the incomparable HHP topped off the evening with a stellar performance that set the Bowl alight.

It was a climactic way to end an absolutely exhilarating evening, leaving guests charged up for the after-parties that took them into the early hours of Sunday morning.

Here's a full list of winners of the 14th Annual MTN South African Music Awards:

MTN Record of the Year: DJ Sdunkero - Maputo Song

Best Male Solo Artists: Hip Hop Pantsula - Acceptance Speech

Best female Solo Artist: Karen Zoid - Postmodern World

Best Duo / Group: Freshlyground - Macheri

Best Newcomer: Tasha Baxter - Colour of Me

Album of the Year: Freshlyground - Macheri

Best Traditional / African Adult Contemporary DVD: Joyous Celebration 11 - Joyous 11: Live At The Sun City Superbowl (Sony BMG Africa)

Best Global Chart DVD: Harris Tweed - Live Under The Pillows (Just Music cc)

Best Afrikaans DVD: Jan Blohm - Jan Blohm Live At The Performer (Hathor Records)

Best Music Video: Lira - Ixesha (Sony BMG Africa). Lara Hollis FOR Ixesha BY Lira

Best Producer: Loyiso - Blow Your Mind (Sony BMG Africa. Crighton Goodwill FOR Blow Your Mind BY Loyiso

Best Engineer: Freshlyground - Macheri (Sony BMG Africa). David Langemann FOR Macheri BY Freshlyground

Best Afrikaans Traditional Music Album: Valiant Swart And Ollie Viljoen - Vuur En Vlam (Rhythm Records)

Best Tsonga Music (XiTsonga) Album: Thomas Chauke - Shimatsatsa (CCP)

Best Mgxobanyawo Album: Thokozani Langa - Phuma Kimi (Bula Music)

Best Maskandi Album: Umgqumeni - I Juke Box (GRC)

Best Traditional A Capella Album: Ladysmith Black Mambazo - Ilembe (GRC)

Best Instrumental Album: Tony Cox - Blue Anthem (Sheer Sounds)

Contemporary Jazz: Jimmy Dludlu - Portrait (Universal Music)

Traditional Jazz: McCoy Mrubata - Brasskap Session Vol 1 (Sheer Sounds)

Best Adult Contemporary Album: English: Freshlyground - Macheri (Sony BMG Africa)

Best Adult Contemporary Album: Afrikaans: Danie Niehaus - Fynskrif (EMI Musiek)

Best Adult Contemporary Album: African: Kwela Tebza - King Kwela (CCP)

Best Urban Gospel: Benjamin Dube - In His Presence (Spirit Music)

African Contemporary Gospel: Hlengiwe Mhlaba - Blessings (Izibusiso) (Amanxusa Music Productions)

African Traditional Gospel: Lundi - Impilo (Bula Music)

Traditional African A Capella Gospel: Macecilia A St Paul - Moshe Mohlanka Oa Modimo (Sony BMG Africa)

Pop/Rock Gospel: Reason (Spirit Music)

Afrikaans Gospel: Retief Burger - Luidkeels Hersien (Merchant Music)

Best Kiddies Album: Afrikaans: Lienka - Afrikaans se Kinderliedjies (Mastermax Productions)

Best Country Music: Alan Ladd - Sing Country (Fantasia Music Distribution)

Best Rock Album: English: Seether - Finding Beauty In Negative Spaces (Musketeer Records)

Best Rock Album: Afrikaans: Kobus! - Swaar Metaal (Rhythm Records)

Best Alternative Music Album: Somerfaan - Kyk Of Sy Kyk (Roar Agencies)

Best Pop Album: English: Tasha Baxter - Colour Of Me (EMI South Africa)

Best Pop Album: Afrikaans: Nicholis Louw - Hier Naby Jou (Select Music)

Best African Pop Album: Malaika - Sekunjalo (Sony BMG Africa)

Best Urban Pop Album: Kb - My Rhythm (Sony BMG Africa)

Best Sokkie Dans Album: Kurt Darren - Voorwarts Mars (Select Music)

Best Urban Dance Album: Dj Cleo - Eskhaleni Phase 4 (Ghetto Ruff)

Q - Best R&B / Neo-Soul Album: Loyiso - Blow Your Mind (Sony BMG Africa)

Best Rap Album: Hip Hop Pantsula - Acceptance Speech (CCP)

Best Kwaito Album: Brickz - Estokfeleni (Ghetto Ruff)

Best Comedy Album: Afrikaans: Op Veiling (Thys die Bosveldklong - Op Veiling) (Fantasia Music Distribution)