Names of xenophobia victims released

2015-04-28 15:20
(Thomas Hartleb, News24)

(Thomas Hartleb, News24)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Durban - The names of the seven people killed during xenophobic violence which erupted in parts of Gauteng and KwaZulu-Natal in the past weeks, were released by the inter-ministerial committee on migration on Tuesday.

Four foreign nationals and three South Africans were identified. They are:

- Marcus Natas, from Ethiopia, who was killed as a result of a petrol bombing attack in Umlazi, east of KwaZulu-Natal.

- A Zimbabwean man known only as Muvo and Mozambican Dava Sebaastio were both attacked by mobs in Chatsworth, south of Durban, and Verulam, north of Durban respectively.

- Shaofic Shaof Ul Alam, from Bangladesh, was shot and killed in Plessislaer, Pietermaritzburg.

- The three South African who died are Thabo Owen Mzobe, Ayanda Dlamini and Petros Dlamini. They were killed in Ntuzuma, Bhekithemba and Chatsworth in KwaZulu-Natal respectively.

The committee, which is led by Minister in the Presidency Jeff Radebe, includes the ministers of home affairs, small business development as well as police.

"Once again the [committee] on behalf of the South African nation extends its deepest condolences to the families of those deceased and wishes those injured a speedy recovery."

Three South Africans and a Somali national have been arrested in connection with three of the deaths. Investigations into the other deaths were continuing, the committee said.

The committee was formed to address the underlying causes of the tensions between locals and foreign nationals. It was satisfied with the fact that peace and calm had returned to the communities that were affected by violent attacks.

A total of 165 undocumented migrants had been arrested and 265 people were arrested for public violence across the country to date.

Dedicated courts had been set up in parts of KwaZulu-Natal to deal the cases against those involved in the crimes against foreign nationals, the committee said.

"As of now the dedicated courts have been put into place in Chatsworth, Umlazi, Ntuzuma, and Durban Magistrate Court."

A total of 1 997 undocumented foreign nationals from Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique and Tanzania had been repatriated, the committee heard.

Read more on:    durban  |  johannesburg  |  xenophobia

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.
NEXT ON NEWS24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.