Nominees for new SABC board

2009-08-26 09:07

Cape Town - Singer Mimi Coertse and the former political journalist Cliff Saunders are among the nominees for the new SABC board.

The list of provisional candidates includes a significant number of former SABC employees, as well as two members of the recently dissolved board.

Journalist Max du Preez, former radio personality Pippa Green and Khaya FM presenter John Perlman are all nominees.

Andile Mbeki and Desmond Golding were both members of the SABC board which was recently dissolved by Parliament.

Some of the other nominees are Danny Titus, Frederik Van Zyl Slabbert, Mark Shuttleworth, Mamphela Ramphele and the poet Antjie Krog.

The new rector of the Free State University, Jonathan Jansen, was also asked to make himself available, as was asked of World Cup chief executive Danny Jordaan, the writer Karel Schoeman and film critic Barry Ronge.

The portfolio committee for communication will shortly compile a shortlist from these names.

Meanwhile, the Department of Communication will present public workshops about the future of the SABC on Wednesday and Friday.