Sanral to test its electronic collection system at tolls

2015-07-10 08:40
Gallery  |  click on thumbnail to view larger image

E-toll protest in Johannesburg

The Congress of SA Trade Unions (Cosatu) is studying the court ruling halting its planned e-toll protest, but a few opponents of e-tolls still gathered at Cosatu House in Johannesburg Friday morning. See the photos.

SANRAL yesterday said that they would also be implementing testing of the electronic toll collection system, ­covering all the main toll routes in the province.

The Witness yesterday reported that the N3 Toll Concession (N3TC), responsible for the N3 toll route between Heidelberg and Cedara, will be testing an alternative payment method that uses similar technology to the e-tolls in Gauteng.

In an effort to alleviate traffic ­congestion, to save time and to migrate towards cashless tolling, Sanral yesterday said they will be introducing testing of the optional electronic toll collection (ETC) payment method at its existing toll plazas.

ETC is distinctly different from the open road tolling on the Gauteng Freeway Improvement Project (GFIP).

Sanral spokesperson Vusi Mona said the system will complement the existing traditional toll collection method, which requires motorists to stop to pay a toll fee either with cash or a card.

South Africa is one of the first countries in the world to introduce the use of automated lanes and automated payment on its toll roads.

“This speeds up the traffic flow at toll plazas on the freeways, eliminates waiting time at booths and provides road users with a single toll bill for all their journeys.

“Sanral’s intention is to make the manner in which toll is paid as easy as possible,” Mona said.

Including the toll plazas between Heidelberg and Cedara, SANRAL will be testing the system at the following plazas:

• N3 Mariannhill

• N2 South Coast

• N1 North: Kranskop Plaza mainline and ramps at the Modimolle interchange; Nyl Plaza mainline and Capricorn mainline plaza and Baobab mainline plaza.

• N17: five mainline toll plazas include Gosforth, Dalpark, Leandra, Trichardt and Ermelo.

• N1 South: Grasmere, Vaal, Verkeerdevlei, and R30 Brandfort

• Diamond Hill

• Huguenot toll plaza

Read more on:    kwazulu-natal  |  e-tolling

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.
NEXT ON NEWS24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.