Universities divided on campuses reopening

2015-10-26 10:29
Wits University was brought to a standstill this week after the announcement of an increase in tuition fees for the 2016 study year. (Elizabeth Sejake, City Press)

Wits University was brought to a standstill this week after the announcement of an increase in tuition fees for the 2016 study year. (Elizabeth Sejake, City Press)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Johannesburg - While most universities will resume classes on Monday after days of student protests, some institutions have decided to take no chances by shutting down academic activity for another day.

University of Cape Town (UCT), the University of Witwatersrand, Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) and parts of the North West University (NWU) will remain closed for most of the week.

The University of KwaZulu Natal students have closed down their Westville campus after demonstrators pulled students out of classes on Monday.

UCT Vice-Chancellor Max Price announced UCT would be closed from October 26 to October 30. Price said they did not have a commitment from protesters that there would no longer be disruptions; and as a result they had decided to remain closed for the week.

Wits spokesperson Shirona Patel said the institution's highest decision making body, the Senate, would be meeting on Monday to decide if exams should go ahead.

CPUT said classes would remain closed until Tuesday, while North West University said their Potchefstroom campus would resume classes but their two other campuses in Mafikeng and Vaal Triangle would remain closed after threats of more protest.

Students are still demanding free education, and an end to outsourcing of university workers.

This after President Jacob Zuma announced on Friday a 0% fee hike for 2016, after nine days of protests on campuses countrywide.

Universities resuming classes on Monday included Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, University of Free State, the University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of Pretoria, University of Western Cape, Tshwane University of Technology and Stellenbosch University.

Exams at most universities (excluding Wits University) will start on November 2.

Read more on:    education  |  university fees

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.