ANC caucus redeploys 10 senior MPs in Parliament

2017-10-20 17:30


Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Cape Town - The African National Congress has announced a number of new deployments to senior parliamentary posts, with the Public Enterprises Portfolio Committee due to get a new chairperson in the middle of its inquiry.

ANC chief whip Jackson Mthembu on Friday said the 10 appointments were made to "fill existing vacancies and strengthen their capacity to fulfil their oversight functions".

"The vacancies within several committees in the National Assembly and National Council of Provinces were created primarily by the redeployment of the previous incumbents to new responsibilities both within and outside Parliament."

The biggest announcement is the appointment of new public enterprises portfolio committee chairperson Lungi Mnganga-Gcabashe.

Eskom probe

The portfolio committee is currently conducting an inquiry into Eskom and other state-owned enterprises, led by acting chairperson Zukiswa Rantho.

New appointments will only become effective once each committee elects the said members to the positions next week, Mthembu said.

Rantho will go back to her position as ANC whip on the committee once Mnganga-Gcabashe is elected, and the chairs will rotate in the inquiry as well, ANC caucus spokesperson Nonceba Mhlauli told News24.

Another notable deployment was former Limpopo premier Cassel Mathale as the new chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Public Service and Administration, Monitoring and Evaluation.

The position was left vacant after Dr Makhosi Khoza was removed from the position following a public bust-up with MPs of the committee and minister Faith Muthambi.

Also, former Gauteng MEC for Housing Humphrey Mmemezi will become the new chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Public Works.

McDonald's scandal

Mmemezi infamously quit his position at the Gauteng legislature in 2012 after making personal purchases with his government credit card, including reportedly buying a painting from McDonald's for R10 000 and disguising it as a purchase of R10 000 worth of burgers.

Other deployments in the National Assembly include:

- Fezeka Loliwe as the new chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Labour. The position was previously held by Lumka Yengeni, who is now South Africa’s ambassador designate to Jamaica.

- Jabu Mahlangu as the new chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Telecommunications and Postal Services. The position was previously held by Mmamoloko Kubayi, who became minister of energy, and then minister of communications in Tuesday's Cabinet reshuffle.

Both Mahlangu and Loliwe had served on the successful Ad Hoc committee inquiry into the SABC earlier this year.

In the National Council of Provinces:

- Charel De Beer is the new chairperson of the Select Committee on Appropriations.
- Motalane Monakedi is the new co-chairperson of the Joint Standing Committee on the Financial Management of Parliament.
- Dumisani Ximbi is the new chairperson of the Select Committee on Petitions and Executive Undertakings.
- Simphiwe Mthimunye is the new chairperson of the Select Committee on Security and Justice.
- Moses Mhlanga is the new provincial whip for Mpumalanga.

Mthembu also said NCOP chairperson Thandi Modise, House chairperson Thoko Didiza and MP Nkosi Zwelivelile Mandela will serve on the Pan African Parliament (PAP) to "strengthen South Africa’s representation at the PAP".

KEEP UPDATED on the latest news by subscribing to our FREE newsletter.

- FOLLOW News24 on Twitter

News24 (@News24) | Twitter

The latest Tweets from News24 (@News24). News24 is Southern Africa and Africa's premier online news resource reaching over 2.3 million local users each month.

Read more on:    parliament  |  anc  |  jackson mthembu

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.