ANC, DA retain wards in hotly contested by-elections

2017-08-03 16:33
Voting station. (File, Duncan Alfreds, News24)

Voting station. (File, Duncan Alfreds, News24)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Cape Town - Both the ANC and the DA retained their wards in the five by-elections held in KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, the North West and Western Cape, the Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) said on Thursday.

The ANC won three wards and the DA two, achieving the same result as in 2016’s local government elections.

In Cape Town’s Ward 4, the DA's Wandisile Ngeyi garnered 61.61% of the votes, down from the 63.70% of his predecessor Tando Jafta, who was fired from the DA for chronic absenteeism.

Only 23.72% of registered voters from Joe Slovo Park, Milnerton, Royal Ascot, and Summergreens went to the polls.

In KwaZulu-Natal, Nkululeko Mkhize increased the DA’s margin to 47.69% compared to last year’s 44.04% in Ward 33 of the Msunduzi Municipality.

The by-election followed the resignation of the party’s councillor who won last year August’s local government elections. The ward saw a voter turnout of 33.76%.

The ANC in the province claimed on Thursday that it was not worried about failing to win the ward, despite sending top leaders - including its chair Sihle Zikalala and provincial secretary Super Zuma - to campaign in the ward.

KwaZulu-Natal ANC spokesperson Mdumiseni Ntuli said they did not expect a victory in an area which was not their stronghold.

"The purpose is to exhibit your presence and continue to increase your support. In our view, what happened there is fine," Ntuli claimed.

Grace Gamma, of the ANC, won Ward 1 in the North Wests's Naledi Municipality. She increased the party’s margin to 56.11%, compared to 54.90% garnered last year.

53.81% of registered voters cast their ballot.

The position became vacant following the death of the previous councillor. In Limpopo, ANC candidate Tjalapa Mooka won Ward 9 in the Mogalakwena Municipality, following the death of its previous councillor.

Mooka won 63.41% of the votes, compared to his predecessor’s 79.99%.

Also in Limpopo, ANC candidate Moswana Seodisa won Ward 1 in the Modimolle/Mookgopong Municipality, after the previous councillor resigned.

Seodisa garnered 51.46% votes, compared to 64.96% in last year’s election.

Read more on:    da  |  anc

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.